Modern Butterfly quilt – TGIFF

Welcome to TGIFF for May 12, 2017! Today I am sharing what is my oldest work-in-progress no longer. Thanks so much to the Carmine group, Simply Solids bee. This was an all-Canadian hive, organized by Erin at Sew at Home Mummy. The mandate was modern design, using all solids fabrics. Blocks made in 2013, handquilted block-by-block over the last 3 years, and assembled in 2017. Finished size 56″ square. Batting is Warm and Natural, prewashed.

final shot modern butterfly

From top left, the makers are:
1. Janet, Caribou Crossing Chronicles (flickr) 2. Patti, Retired to Quilt (flickr, instagram) 3. Me 4. Oops, I can’t figure this one out. Maybe another one I made since I’m pretty sure all my bee mates are accounted for.

5. Carla, Grace and Favour (flickr) 6. Chelsea (also #11) 7. Sheila Bonnett (flickr, instagram) 8. ApplePiePatchwork (flickr, instagram) (second block after Canada Post lost the first one–which arrived 6 months later)

9. Pam, Mad About Patchwork (flickr, instagram) 10. M-R Charbonneau, Quilt Matters (flickr, instagram) 11. Chelsea (flickr), 12. Tabatha, Bending Pins, (flickr)

13. ApplePiePatchwork (the first block) 14. Me 15. Anne-Marie, LovingPeace (flickr) 16. Jaclyn Bartlett (flickr)

I might like the back just as much. To counteract the crispness of the solids on the front, I selected gorgeous large scale prints (with Anna Maria Horner very well represented) which we all buy but are so difficult to use in small pieces.

back of modern butterfly

And maybe just one detail shot showing the quilting.

detail_modern butterfly

Some of my previous posts about this quilt: Hand Quilting, Modern Butterfly–My first pattern, A Rainbow of Butterflies, Slow stitching

Are you ready to share your finish?–whether it is a quilt, knitted hat, garment, or other project you are busting your buttons to show the world. When you add your link, I would appreciate if you leave your name or blogname and the title of your project, such as “Lisa – Modern Butterfly Quilt”.

Please do hop around and visit a few other links and leave a comment, because every finish deserves a celebration!

ETA Also linking to Kaleidoscope of Butterflies at Fret Not yourself.

14 comments

  1. I love this!! The butterflies are lovely. 🙂

  2. smilesfromkate · ·

    Well done for finishing your WIP. It is far too lovely to be languishing in a cupboard and I really like the back, pretty.

  3. What a great finish, congratulations all round!

  4. This is a beautiful quilt! I love the butterfly at the end…those colors are gorgeous! It must feel amazing to have this WIP finished?!

  5. […] that since I was learning this craft, I should learn it in a traditional way. I hand quilted my Modern Butterfly quilt as a take-along project. When I finished the top for this Starbright quilt, I decided that […]

  6. […] Modern Butterfly – done! See this post for more […]

  7. I love those modern butterflies! And the quilting is perfect. Great finish!

  8. How fun to trade such beautiful blocks with friends. And I love the prints on the back. You’re right, they counter the solids well. Congratulations! Thanks for linking this inspirational finish with Kaleidoscope of Butterflies.

  9. thedarlingdogwood · ·

    This is absolutely beautiful! I love all the different combinations of solids in the butterflies. Your hand quilting is amazing. Beautiful finish!

    1. Thank you! I just asked for bright colours but also that touch of aqua in each butterfly (or at least almost all of them) for cohesiveness.

      :

      >

  10. Oh, what a beautiful quilt! Actually it’s more like two quilts in one. And your hand quilting is a perfect touch. I have a difficult time working with all solids but it doesn’t appear anyone in your bee did.

    Congrats on the finish and thanks for linking up to Kaleidoscope of Butterflies.

    1. Using solids was part of the challenge. Hmm, now I’m wondering what this pattern would look like in prints…

      On Sun, Jul 2, 2017 at 10:57 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  11. Lovely butterfly blocks and great hand stitching.
    I use solids in my projects, I like the clean, uncluttered
    look, good choice for your butterflies!

    1. I struggle to find the right mix of prints and solids sometimes, it may be time for me to revisit an all-solids quilt. But maybe after my other 12 UFOs are done.

      On Sun, Jul 2, 2017 at 11:56 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >