Slow stitching – Modern Butterfly update

Modern butterfly block compilation

Very slow, as in 3 years worth. Although originally I thought I would be able to use this hand quilting project to take along to the park or in the backyard while enjoying family time, but realistically that didn’t happen, and the only opportunities I had to progress these has been at the cottage, in the evenings. A couple of these need a little more stitching, but I am thrilled to realize that I am so close to my target of 16 blocks for a 56″ square quilt!. I need to make one more butterfly block, the rest are from my bee-mates from the Simply Solids bee.

I started using these sticky thimble dots a couple of years ago, they are really comfortable and easy to use. They seemed expensive at first, but I can stick it back inside the tin and reuse it many times.

IMG_20160831_202755

Linking up to Kathy for Slow Stitching Sunday and Fret Not Yourself Kaleidoscope of Butterflies.

Slow Sunday Stitching
9 comments

  1. I like the colorful butterflies.

  2. Beautiful blocks! I like all the colors! How about some circular “eye spots” on some of the wings?

    1. I like any colour, but I’ve been working on this quilt long enough that I need it done. Thank you for the suggestion anyway.

      On Mon, Nov 14, 2016 at 11:42 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. These butterflies are very beautiful. I don’t do much handwork as it takes so long, but I do love the way it looks.

    1. I hand quilted my first quilt, since I figured that if I was going to learn to quilt, I should learn the traditional way of quilting. And I agree, it has a certain appeal, different than machine quilting, so sometime it is the right choice. It can be very meditative.

      On Mon, Nov 14, 2016 at 9:37 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  4. Beautiful butterflies. The end is in sight!! Keep going.

    1. Yes, i think I can! I think I can!

  5. […] Modern Butterfly – one block left to quilt Farmer’s wife and miscellaneous sampler blocks – well, one day I will mash these all together into a quilt […]

  6. […] assemble the 16 blocks. So i think I’ll give this a try for Q1. This is the last block, go to this post to see the other […]

