A rainbow of butterflies

I finished up another butterfly block on the weekend, so I thought I would get them all out and see where I’m at. These blocks were originally made in the Simply Solids Bee in 2013 using a pattern I designed, and I decided to hand quilt them using a quilt-as-you-go method. The backing fabrics are all wild prints from Anna Maria Horner, Valori Wells, Amy Butler, etc–prints that often don’t play well with standard patchwork. But I figure this way I’ll get a two-sided quilt. I sashed each 10″ block with another solid–so far I’ve used Kona peacock, azure, and berry–which will help square them up because some were a bit scant in the measurements. I’m sure this was my error, as in hindsight I should have just sent the patterns out to my bee-mates, rather than relying on each of them printing the pdfs.

Modern butterfly mosaic January 2015

Hey, look at that–I’ve finished eight, meaning I’m halfway done! I will have to make another couple of blocks myself to get to sixteen.

I find hand quilting very relaxing, and it’s a nice way to carry my quilting out to the backyard in the summer, may-it-be-here-soon. I’ll keep plugging away, and maybe by Christmas (I didn’t say this year however) this quilt will be finished.

Linking up to Sew Cute Tuesday with Blossom Heart Quilts and Let’s Bee Social with Sew Fresh Quilts.

2 comments

  1. I think I remember which block I made ; )
    Looks great!

    1. I’m having so much fun looking at the colour combinations everyone picked. I think I might need to add some brighter sashing–maybe a deep pink.

