Christmas in July (TGIFF)

Welcome to TGIFF for July 22! How are you all doing this fine (muggy and hot) July day! Ready to talk about cooler weather, when a nice quilt is needed to snuggle in front of a fire, cup of hot chocolate (with marshmallows of course) in hand?

You know I love a good quilt along, so this one started back in 2017 with Sew Fresh Quilts free Christmas/winter themed blocks. The layout was determined by two things — firstly, making it a decent size with only 13 blocks, and secondly, using some solid fabric “negative space” for fun quilting. Here is the post explaining my vintage Christmas colour scheme.

I’m pretty darn proud of the quilting, although using my domestic, the optimal space is about 4 inches square, so it’s difficult to make larger motifs and stitch farther apart so as to not squash the batting too much. I was watching some of Angela Walters’ latest videos to give me ideas as I quilted this. Most of the blocks have outline or echo stitching for the motif, with meanders or swirls in the background, and for the blue border I divided it into 3 sections. I had some trouble keeping the straight lines in a straight line, but I’m sure you can’t see the flaws.

The finished size is 85″ x 92″, a nice queen size (shown on a king size bed), with Warm and Natural batting.

So now it’s your turn to share your finish for this week! (finishes only please). Was it a long time project or a satisfying quick beachtime diversion? Please jump around and leave some comments for others, because every finish deserves a celebration! Note that linky tool will open in a new tab.

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!Click here to enter

10 comments

  1. Nancy @ Grace and Peace Quilting · ·

    Great layout idea to accommodate 13 blocks, Lisa! Fun quilting, too!!!

    1. Thank you so much! Now to find a recipient! (or maybe I’ll keep it πŸ™‚ )

      >

  2. […] that time researching, playing, doodling and test driving paid off. I was able to finish quilting the sky in less than a week. No doubt the town will take longer. I won’t be able to do that with a […]

  3. Nice quilt, and I love what you did with the quilting!

    1. Thanks for stopping by to visit! I really like how the blue amd pink keep this quilt fresh and soft.

      On Fri., Jul. 22, 2022, 8:21 a.m. Lisa in Port Hope, < comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote:

      >

  4. Absolutely love your quilting. Great job with your domestic! I too quilt on my domestic and just got
    some template to try. Your quilting is so nice . The quilt itself is great with lovely colors and design!
    Great work and I love the green!

    1. Thank you! I have come to realize that the best quilting design is one that makes me happy. So I focus on having fun while sewing and I don’t stress out too much.

      On Fri., Jul. 22, 2022, 9:57 a.m. Lisa in Port Hope, < comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote:

      >

  5. Wow! You quilted that on a domestic machine with minimal throat space, I’m super impressed. What a fun quilt. Congratulations on the finish!

    1. Thank you! It’s just like how you eat an elephant,one bite at a time πŸ˜‰ I’ve never done anything bigger than a queen, although I would like a king size quilt for our bed. We use a queen size right now and apart from the occasional tug of war in the middle of the night, make it do.

      On Sat., Jul. 23, 2022, 8:41 a.m. Lisa in Port Hope, < comment-reply@wordpress.com> wrote:

      >

  6. That is really lovely quilting. I love it.