Vintage Christmas

If you follow Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts, you know already that she is offering free patterns for 15 sampler blocks with a Christmas theme. Go here for the Have a Jolly Little Christmas home page.

And since I love sampler quilts, and quilt-alongs, it was easy to convince myself to join in. I have a layout in mind which makes a queen size quilt with only 13 blocks, and some negative space. Having just finished a traditional-colour Christmas quilt in October (Grand Illusion Christmas), I thought a softer palette was in order. Although I won’t be putting up a white tree anytime soon, I pinned some “vintage Christmas” images on Pinterest and my colour scheme was set. The soft pinks and aquas, along with red and a lighter green, and silver and gold metallic fabrics, will make a lovely quilt.

christmasbow-sm.jpg

So that being said, here are some photos. I dutifully cut out each block as it was released, but then started sewing with the bow. It has a light pink background, and I plan to use pink backgrounds for a least 3 other blocks. The remainder of the blocks will get the silver or gold star on off-white as a background.

mittens block

Mittens block–I will piece the mitten to look like a fair isle design across the back.


poinsettia block

Poinsettia block.  I love pink poinsettias.

Ta da! Tell me, are you jumping in with the hope of having a new Christmas quilt this year?

Linking up to Let’s Bee Social on March 1 (gasp, March already?!).

5 comments

  1. It’s going to be so pretty! Love the gold!

  2. I love your colour combinations! I might just have to jump in too!

    1. Who am I to say no? Go for it!

  3. I love your gold bow. Very striking.

    1. Thank you, I eagerly anticipate each pattern to see what’s next, although I need to catch up on the sewing part 😉

