Starbright Quilt Finish (TGIFF)

Is it your dream to be paid to quilt? Well, it isn’t mine, but it sort of came true this year with Covid and work from home. My Covid journey began with two weeks of on-line training, and then my return to my regular schedule of meetings meant I was sitting behind a computer screen listening and talking for 8-10 hours per week, with minimal note-taking. I needed to focus on the presentation or conversation in each meeting, and yet I can’t sit idle.

And ta-da! Those 40 or so hours of hand quilting took this quilt from half-finished to done! The pattern is by Rachel Hauser at Stitched in Color, from the Angled e-class in 2014. The star fabrics are all Anna Maria Horner, purchased over the years, with low volume backgrounds. Even the backing and binding fabrics are by AMH. Looking back through my posts, I started the quilting in May of 2017.

I had left the batting oversized, but as I showed in this post, the batting (Quilter’s Dream Orient) was bearding from handling. So I stay-stitched the edge, trimmed the batting, and added the binding this past Christmas holiday, allowing me to slowly stitch the binding to the back in parallel with finishing the quilting. It is light and warm, and drapes nicely.

My original design concept was more organized, but everything got mixed up while sewing, so when I laid out the triangles that would become stars I created one “same-fabric” star in each row, to give it a little order. The stars are echoed inside with 12-wt Aurifil thread 2915 (very light brass), plus a hexagon in the centre of each star for stability, while the background diamonds have 50-wt Aurifil echoes in 2900 (light sand). Finally, I used the embroidery function of my sewing machine to make a label and hand stitched it in place. I’m keeping this one.

Finished size: 60″ x 70″

Batting: Quilter’s Dream Orient

Started 2014, finished 2020.

So now it’s time to share your finish! Was it started this year or 10 years ago? Is it for you or a special someone? Please remember to hop around and leave a nice comments for two or three other posts.

Linky party will open in new tab.

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!Click here to enter

TGIFF is looking for hosts for the rest of the year, including next week! If you’re interested, visit TGIFF to sign up.

8 comments

  1. Your quilt is beautiful! What a great way to spent time while listening. Happy stitching!

  2. Wow, Lisa, what an accomplishment, and hey, it basically quilted itself right? Wink. So glad you could do two things at once, especially one as beautiful as this. I bet it is incredibly soft and cuddly. Thanks for hosting TGIFF!

    1. In real life BC (before Covid) I didn’t have a lot of sitting time, so progress was slow. I really hope my company continues to support working from home and then maybe I’ll get another hand quilted quilt done. 😉

      Lisa

      :

      >

  3. […] Linking with Whoop Whoop From Bolt to Beauty Finished or Not Peacock Party TGIFF […]

  4. This is so beautiful. And hand quilted too! Love the fabrics you’ve used with the saturated and low volume prints.

  5. […] TGIFF @ Lisa in Port Hope […]

  6. Beautiful quilt! You must be super pleased to have it finished!

  7. I love scrappy quilts and yours is beautiful. And it’s hand-quilted … amazing! Glad you had the time to finish it and look forward to seeing more of your quilts.