On Ringo Lake (TGIFF)

DSC_5125-2
Welcome friends old and new to TGIFF this week! This quilt has taken me longer than it should because I have jumped into some other projects in the middle. With the small pieces of the Bonnie Hunter design, I knew an all over stitching pattern would work best, and I am happy with the dahlia style FMQ. I tried out my new ruler foot for the setting triangles and border, and I think I like it but I need more practice.
DSC_5139-3DSC_5146-2
This was on my 2019-Q1 finish a long list too!

The quilt finished at 49″ x 63″, using Warm and Natural batting and Aurifil thread in Aluminum for all of the stitching, including the machine stitched binding. The backing is from Paper Obsessed by Heather Givans, and is an awesome modern blender. When it came to the binding, like many times before I eyed up the trimmings from the back and said, “Heck, yeah!”, only requiring a couple of extra pieces to make up the length I needed (not quite perfectly, I needed to add another 3″ to make sure it would go all the way around).
DSC_5123-2

See my awesome cone thread hack? And the stitch holder (used for knitting) was fortuitously sitting nearby and makes the perfect loop to redirect the thread into my machine.
DSC_5121-2
Previous posts about this quilt can be found at:
-colour inspiration
-progress 1
-progress 2

Please click on the link below to go visit the linkup page. If you have any troubles, just comment below or send me an email and I’ll add your awesome finish for you 😉 . And while you’re there, go and visit a few more creators.

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter

Thanks for visiting this week!

12 comments

  1. […] with Whoop Whoop Lisa in Port Hope Busy Hands Silly Mama From Bolt to Beauty Sew She Can UFO […]

  2. Congratulations, Lisa, it’s beautiful! I love your quilting and your thread cone hack is perfect 🙂 Whatever works, right?! Thanks for hosting this week.

  3. Love your hack!! Great job on the finish. Thanks for hosting the link up!

  4. […] TGIFF @ Lisa in Port Hope […]

  5. Love your On Ringo Lake!!! It’s BEAUTIFUL!

  6. Anja @ Anja Quilts · ·

    Awesome! It looks amazing. And I love the thread stand hack. ☺

  7. Lisa, great job finishing ORL! That knitting stitch keeper is perfect for the sewing job!

    1. Thank you! I love exploring different colour combinations in my quilts.

      Lisa

  8. […] with Whoop Whoop Lisa in Port Hope Busy Hands Silly Mama From Bolt to Beauty Sew She Can UFO Busting Color & Inspiration […]

  9. Sharon Browne · ·

    Beautiful soft shades of color! I love this!

    1. Thanks, I have rarely used black in quilts so I was happy it worked out so well.

      Lisa

      On Thu, Apr 4, 2019, 10:25 AM Lisa in Port Hope, wrote:

      >

  10. […] started the border 2. Glamp stitchalot – no progress 3. On Ringo Lake – finished see this post 4. Beach ball baby quilt – no progress 5. Beach ball quilt #2 – no progress 6. Jolly […]