Upcycled Needlebook finish

Hey look, I finished something from my Q4 Finish-a-Long list! This came about somewhat deliberately, because I didn’t want to work on basting the second half of my Sugar Block Club quilt, so I looked back to see what I had pledged to make, and got to work!

the backside

I had picked up this linen handkerchief at the thrift store–it was too lovely to leave behind, and I figured I could rescue the embroidered thistle in another project. I am pretty certain it is unused, by the way. I figured out how to cut out the section with the thistle and piece it into the needlebook cover, using more of the linen and some cotton scraps to make the other half, similar to the pattern. I saved some of the edging with the perforated finish, which in retrospect was fairly bulky and resulted in a wobbly zipper.

THISTLE NEEDLEBOOK

variegated thread adds a nice touch

No matter, it’s a great looking pouch, and feels really nice thanks to the linen. Now I just need to find some more needles to give them a home.

NEEDLEBOOK INTERIOR

Linking to TGIFF with Powered by QuiltingDSC_3879. I will be adding a link to the Finish-a-long once it opens. Updated : link here.

13 comments

  1. What a fun and useful Finish! Great job❤️

    1. Thank you and have a Merry Christmas!

  2. What a beautiful way to save that embroidery and make it into something functional at the same time!

    1. Thank you, I am plotting what to do with the other (plain) half of the handkerchief now.

      Lisa

  3. Your thistle needlecase is nice! I like how it opens out flat and has plenty of space to sick threaded needles for later use. And I really love finding good-to-do avoidance tasks. 😀

    1. Definitely a win win! Now if only the vacuuming would magically get done…

      Lisa

  4. I have some hand embroidered table runners that are 40 years old, it used to be so much more common to see this type of item so I was happy to rescue it.

    Lisa

  5. Oh this is fun! I also enjoy procrastinating by working on other projects. I still feel productive. 😉

    1. It feels good yo have a finish, even if i am the only one keeping track.

      Lisa

  6. This is very nice. I like how you re-purposed the handkerchief.

    1. Thank you, I’m going to keep an eye out for hand embroidery now. I probably get to one or the other thrift shop at least once per month.

      Lisa

    2. Thrift shops are great places to find hidden treasures like these!

  7. I recognize that needle book from Make It Take It! Great use of the beautiful handkerchief! On behalf of the global hosts of the Finish A Long, thank you for participating!