Coming Home quilt finish

A finish! Or at least mostly. I still need to work in thread ends and make a label. But I wanted to lay it out and check that I hadn’t missed any spots.

This is the Coming Home quilt by Sarah Fielke, released as a block of the month. I liked the cute houses and the rounded corners on the outer borders. I used some busy fabrics and skipped the applique for those houses, and then I got inspired by someone on Instagram adding a church to theirs so I made a treehouse, a typical Ontario farmhouse, and a bandshell (to represent my band family).

Coming Home quilt top

Most of the applique is done by hand, some by machine, and most of the quilting is by machine with a little hand quilting in one of the trees and the kite tails are embroidered. I may add a swing to the treehouse.

It certainly took a long time and I’m glad to have it finished so we can use it on our king size bed). Joining https://www.duckcreekmountainquilting.com/blog/2023/7/25/tgiff-thank-goodness-its-finished-friday for TGIFF.

One comment

  1. Virginia · ·

    You did a fantastic job, Lisa.