Slow Sunday Stitching

I’m enjoying a few minutes of quiet today with my coffee and stitching down the binding on these placemats.

The backstory is that I purchased a partially finished set of rows of vintage broken dishes blocks from Etsy several years ago. I was disappointed to see the amount of staining on the fabrics, so I stuffed them aside. I rediscovered them recently and decided that I should either throw them out or use them.

I picked out seams to separate them into rows of 3 (some seams were hand pieced and some by machine) and set them into groups of 6. I raided my box of 30s style fabrics for backing and binding, and soon I will have 3 new placemats to enjoy until they fall apart.

Joining Kathy for Slow Sunday Stitching.

7 comments

  1. What a fun way to use an old quilt top! The 30’s prints look great with the broken dishes blocks

    1. I had a lot of fun quilting them too. thanks for stopping by!

      On Sun., Mar. 13, 2022, 11:33 a.m. Lisa in Port Hope, wrote:

      >

  2. Marvellous repurposing! And you have lovely spring placemats to enjoy!

    1. My current set is getting worn, so it was time to make some new ones.

      On Sun., Mar. 13, 2022, 1:09 p.m. Lisa in Port Hope, wrote:

      >

  3. kimsharman7440 · ·

    Some lovely 1930’s fabrics there. How disappointing some parts were stained, but I must say your idea of making placemats is a fabulous one.

  4. Three lovely “new to you” placemats, and you rescued some old blocks from the rubbish tip. I’m presuming you have tried soaking them in Vanish or whatever product you use for the stains? The fabric you have chosen for the backing certainly suits the blocks, and as for binding, always my favourite part of the project. Well done, I’m sure you will enjoy using these placemats while you ponder on the maker and her life.

    1. I don’t remember if I washed them or not already, but that was part of my thinking in making them into place mats is that they will get washed frequently. I have some triangular fabric scraps left but definitely would not have been enough for a full quilt top. I’m happy with this solution.

      On Mon., Mar. 14, 2022, 5:42 p.m. Lisa in Port Hope, wrote:

      >