Quilting hugs and kisses

Welcome to TGIFF and a finish for me that has been a long time coming. The Tic Tac Toe blocks were made by my bee-mates in the 2015 version of the Canadians Quilt Bee, from this pattern by Blossom Heart Quilts. I continued my free motion quilting practice following along the #freemotionchallenge by Angela Walters. Mostly I use Aurifil 50 weight, my machine likes it. But then I switched to some thread purchased from Connecting Threads, which is slightly heavier. Uh oh. After ripping out an entire “O” , I found some settings which worked although I wasn’t completely happy, so I finished them off with Aurifil. The border is a loopy meander, practically invisible with navy thread on navy fabric.

1306-2018-0812122890049173648672745601540530768.jpeg

And just like that, it’s all done! I dithered a bit and then decided on machine sewn binding for speed. I had some troubles with tension on the topstitching, I think because I was pulling on the corner to keep it flat. I also had to go back in a few spots where I missed the edge and add more stitching.

See the last photo for why I couldn’t lay this quilt in the grass for a picture. Finished size is 45″x60″, batting is Warm and Natural.

This was a goal for my Q2 finish-a-long list.

Now it’s your turn! Shout out for a proud finish this week! Please visit two or three others to share the community love. (Note the link-up will open in a new page.)

Hmm, what project should I do next?

**Due to the large number of spam comments on this post, comments have been disabled. Feel free to email me**

25 comments

  1. […] to Quilting Hugs and Kisses for the TGIFF linkup (oops, I published it a bit […]

  2. Great quilting, I love the fabrics you chose!

    1. Thanks I am really happy with the free motion I added to this quilt!

  3. I am thinking, maybe there is something wrong with the link up? Was it setup correctly?

    1. No it’s okay. Unfortunately wordpress.com doesn’t allow third party scripts to embed directly onto my page (hey but it’s a free service so I won’t complain) so that’s why it opens on a new page.

      >

  4. […] Linking up with Confessions of a Fabric Addict , Busy Hands Quilts , Lisa in Port Hope […]

  5. Julie Stocker · ·

    Lisa, I love the diagonals in the border, and how the value plays with the X’s! Your quilting looks wonderful here, too. Nice work!

    1. I kept the colour scheme very simple and the border fabric was a serendipitous purchase from the sale table 3 or 4 years ago. I love all the different fabrics my bee mates used for the blocks. Thank you for your comment

      :

      >

  6. Great fabric choices in this quilt Lisa, and your quilting is awesome.

    1. Thanks (blush). I love that I was able to try out some new motifs and add to my quilting library with the help of the free motion challenge!

  7. Vera Negligent · ·

    Pretty finish Lisa, well done!

    1. Thank you so much!

      :

      >

  8. Great finish, Lisa! Your quilting looks fantastic 🙂 Thanks for hosting this week!

  9. Beautiful quilt, sweet colors!

    1. It will be hard to give away, but I’m sure I will find a deserving baby to gift it to.

      :

      >

  10. Great colours Lisa and smashing quilting 😀 thanks for hosting #TGIFF

    1. Thanks for stopping by!

      :

      >

  11. What a beautiful finish Lisa! I will have to go check out that pattern…and off I go after another squirrel! LOL on the hen reason for not laying the quilt on the grass. Yeah I still have trouble with machine-binding if I do the ‘catch the back in the stitch-in-the-ditch from the front’ technique but I’m getting better. Glue baste is the best! Great quilting too!

    1. I love glue basting for tricky seams when I’m bag making, or paper piecing, but I haven’t tried it for binding, that’s a great idea!

      :

      >

  12. Great finish. Too bad you had trouble with the thread.

    1. It’s working ok for piecing, and my other machine seems to be ok with the heavier thread, but I’ll have to see if there’s any other way to get it to work for free motion quilting. Technically the Pfaff has electronic tension adjustment, so I shouldn’t need to adjust anything, but now that I think of it I sent a spool of Aurifil during the most recent maintenance visit, so of course it should work the best. Thanks for stopping by!

      :

      >

  13. The quilting looks fabulous! Congratulations on your finish and thank you for hosting.

    1. Thanks Sarah, I should be able to get the next quilt in the queue basted this weekend…

      Lisa

      On Sat, Jun 16, 2018, 12:01 AM Lisa in Port Hope, wrote:

      >

  14. Love the blues in this tic tac toe quilt , one of my favourite blocks

    1. I told my bee mates to use a variety of blues and aqua, I agree this quilt sparkles because of that! Thanks for stopping by!

      Lisa

      On Sun, Jun 17, 2018, 6:35 PM Lisa in Port Hope, wrote:

      >