Summer Stitching

Greetings, friends. I’ve been sewing almost every day, so it’s about time I logged what has been under the needle. I find it so relaxing, especially with other stresses that are piling up right now.

First up is the Simply Solids bee.  I enjoyed the Spiderwebblock for July for Chelsea, but it took a lot longer than I thought it should have.  I had a hard time going completely scrappy, so I started with an aqua-orange theme and added a few others like chartreuse.  Eventually I started picking each strip so I wouldn’t have the same colours matching up together at the seams….I think I need to practice improvisation some more.  I finished this on the 25th, so a very yellow late night photo before I sent it off.

Spider Web block for July

The good news was that Patti sent out her fabric early, so by using her block as leaders and lenders for the spiderweb block, I finished it on Saturday.  Wow, it’s not even August yet!  I loved this rolling stone block and her quilt will look fantastic.

Rolling Stone for Simply Solids

I also got back into the Virtual Quilting Bee at Diary of a Quilter for my nephew’s quilt  After taking this group shot, I decided that every block needs the dark blue, so I’m not sure what I’ll do with the two light blocks.  My daughter had a great time rearranging them. 

IMGP2568

 

Linking up to Fabric Tuesday at Quilt Story and WIP Wednesday at The Needle and Thread Network.

 

2 comments

  1. Lovely blocks again. I am enjoying piecing all the different ones each month. Happy stitching

  2. I love your bee blocks, aren’t they fun. Love leaders and enders, seems so effortless to make a block that way. I like all your virtual bee blocks, however you could always use them for pillows.