A Gift for Lisa (TGIFF)

I tried to resist jumping in with another swap, but I rationalized that it wouldn’t take too much time. On Instagram #saturdaynightcraftalong is a fun group around the globe (starting in Australia) who share their crafty endeavours. This is the second year for a little gift swap at the end of the calendar year. My partner was @lisalisaandthequiltjam (instagram browser link). Scrolling through her feed and likes, she is primarily a quilter, and since I had recently purchased the Sew Together Bag pattern, I decided it would be a perfect gift, something she wouldn’t likely make for herself.

Rainbows are always in style of course, and she said she loved black and white, which was perfect to set off the prints, with some of my favourite grey metallic as an accent. I spent a lot of time scrolling through blog posts looking for tips. I ended up really happy with the results–I interfaced the main section with fusible fleece, used SF101 light woven fusible for all other pieces per the pattern, and added zipper tabs to the inside pockets. I handsewed the binding for the edges–I think I could have even used a narrower piece–but machine sewed the zipper binding. The zipper is cut down to 19″ from a purse zipper, and, most important, I used bias binding, not straight. I made a cute pincushion and added a tail and a snap (sorry, no picture but check out Lisa’s instagram to see it) so it wouldn’t slide away but that it could easily be taken out of the bag while in use.

20181110_121533

How about you? What finish are you celebrating this week? Was it a long-time WIP or a quick end-of-year gift for that special person? Click below to jump to the TGIFF link party, and please visit a few others to share the love! Note that the new inlinkz requires you to register on their site (you can use an existing social media account like google or facebook); if that doesn’t work for you, send me an email ljridge4511 (at) gmail ( dot) com and I’ll add the link for you.

click here to visit the link party

6 comments

  1. Thats a great set of finishes!! How cool!!

    1. Thanks, it was a fun project to make. :

      >

  2. Anja @ Anja Quilts · ·

    What an awesome bag and matching pin cushion. It’s hard to resist swaps and QALs. ☺

    1. Glad I’m not the only one with low willpower when it comes to swaps 🙂 The blocks of the month starting in January are whispering now…

      :

      >

  3. Beautiful bag and pin cushion. The sew together bag is really pretty.

    1. Thank you, rainbows are always awesome.

      Lisa