Scrappy Mug Rugs

I love using a mug rug at work to protect my desk. I often eat lunch while catching up on emails or administrative stuff. I know, bad example. The one I had was getting dirty, so in order to ensure I had a second one while the first was being washed, I quickly sewed up some scraps which were on my cutting table after trimming up a strip set for a quilt my daughter wanted to make.

cutting border pieces

Digging in my scrap bin, I found a piece of cross-hatch by Carolyn Friedlander, and trimmed it to width. The leftover piece I cut in half and sewed the angled end together for the other side of the mug rug. A few minutes of quilting – practicing my straight line quilting plus some free motion – and it was finished. I am using a double fold binding on this one, but rather than cut a second strip of the netorious in teal, I used a scrap of the Tula Pink chain mail, and placed it so the scraps seem to wrap around the back of the piece.

ready to quilt

binding in progress

Oh yes, I made another. I found a pile of 60-degree off cuts in my scrap bin, from my Anna Maria Horner Starbright quilt, which I had previously paired into rectangles. After making 4 or 5 arrangements, I sewed them together into this slightly larger mug rug. Due to the flamboyant colours, I went with simple 1/2″ spaced quilting. For this one, a sweet pink batik single fold binding finished it off.

Mug rug binding in progress

On the kitchen table while binding…testing it out.

These were a great little project to get from scraps to finish in a couple of hours. I hope you have time to play with scraps this week too. Linking up to Scraptastic Tuesday with Leanne at She Can Quilt.

2 comments

  1. Lisa, these are so cute! I have a ton of smaller scraps and I am going to get busy! Thanks for the great post!

  2. That’s a great little scrap busting project. Playing with the scraps is not something I think to do often.

Leave a Reply

