Pear Salsa Recipe

I think this is the most canning I have done for a few years and I’m running out of places to put the jars. We have a pear tree purchased at the big box home improvement store about 10-12 years ago, it actually has 4 varieties of pears which ripen between mid-August and late September. I had made a mild salsa last year which I really enjoyed so this year I decided to add a little heat.
The recipe I used was mostly based on this one here but I also found the same recipe listed as being from an older version of Ball’s Guide to Canning cookbook.

20170917_210254

I made a double batch, with the following ingredients:
16 cups chopped pears (which happened to be Anjou)
4 cups chopped yellow pepper
2 cups chopped green pepper
2 large onions, chopped
2 jalepeno peppers, minced
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1 to 2 tsp mustard powder
1/2 tsp allspice
ground white pepper
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 cups white vinegar
juice of 1-2 limes
(cilantro, basil, thyme, or another herb would be nice too)

Put the vinegar in the pan and then add the pears — they take the longest because I had to peel them — then the rest of the ingredients and cook for 10-15 minutes. I use a latex glove on my left hand to prevent the fruit juice from soaking into my skin, and as protection against the peeler slipping. And of course it’s also recommended when cutting hot peppers. I chopped the jalapenos last and then put my knife and cutting board directly into the dishwasher.

I spray my tree 2 or 3 times per season using an organic product to reduce insects, meaning many pears still do have bugs, but usually they are only within the core, or there is a small piece to be cut off. I think that’s a small price to pay for being able to pick fruit off my own tree.

trimming the bugs out of my pears

You can see the entry hole for the bug, everything else is perfectly edible.

I always run the jars through the dishwasher, then put the hot liquid into the hot jars before processing. For this recipe 10 minutes in the hot water bath worked well; for bigger jars you might want to use 15 minutes. Adjust as recommended for higher altitudes. One lid didn’t seal so it’s in the fridge and will be our tester in another week or so. Yield 15 half-pints.

finished pear salsa

Leave a Reply

