AMH Diamonds Mini — Bloggers Quilt Festival

For my second entry in the Blogger’s Quilt Festival at Amy’s Creative Side, I thought I would revisit the mini quilt I made in 2015 for an instagram swap.  I used big stitch quiting with floss to emphasize the linen diamonds, then free motion quilting for the prints in matching thread.

AMH WIP mini quilt

 

amh quilting detail 2

In case you are interested in making the same pattern, let me tell you that I used 4-1/2″ strips to cut the half-rectangles (prints) and triangles (background) pieces with the Tri-Recs ruler. It was fun sorting my Anna Maria Horner fabrics into colourways for this mini. I usually keep my fabrics in plastic boxes sorted by colour, but I have to confess I keep my AMH fabrics separate to drool over.

quilting detail gold

quilting detail magenta

I think most people who swap have a quilt they wish to remake in order to be able to keep it — this one is the one for me.  At least at the moment.

amh diamonds finished quilt

 

7 comments

    1. Thank you for stopping by and your sweet comment!

      Virus-free. http://www.avg.com

      On Sun, Sep 24, 2017 at 12:19 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  1. I am going to bookmark this one Lisa! I have a fat quarter stack of AMH that I take out and fondle from time to time LOL. I know what pattern I want to make, but this mini with leftovers that are bound to occur, is a great one! Beautiful job.

    1. Happy to inspire your creativity!

      Lisa

  2. I know that “want to keep the swap quit” feeling!

  3. Beautiful!!! the hand quilting really adds interest.

  4. Pretty quilt. I like the addition of the hand quilting. I never think to do that on my quilts!

Leave a Reply

