Monarchs

I’ve been letting the (wild aka weeds) milkweed grow in my garden, and finally this year I had a significant population of monarch caterpillars. After the first few were eaten by birds (according to the internet, birds have to learn that monarch caterpillars are poisonous due to their milkweed diet by trying a few, it’s not instinct), I decided to raise a few of my own. My daughter’s school teacher does this every fall for the enjoyment of the kids, so again a quick internet search led me to select a plastic shoebox, and gather a few eggs to raise.

It’s very soothing to sit and watch the caterpillars chomp away, and I was fascinated to see one shed its skin and form a chrysalis yesterday. Again on the advice of another blogger, I moved the chrysalises out of the box onto a little frame I built out of sticks. The dilemma is that my daughter and I are actually heading to our shared ownership cottage on Sunday, about 150 km north, so I needed to be able to transport the incipient butterflies so we can let them go there. One smaller caterpillar may end up back in the garden here to fend for itself, but I expect to have a total of six to bring up.

Monarch starting to form chrysalis
Just formed chrysalis

I also had some scary looking milkweed beetles, and currently a rather significant population of aphids on some of the plants, which has fortunately attracted quite a few predators–ladybugs, wasps, and flies. The milkweed flowers were quite fragrant too.

milkweed beetle

2 comments

  1. I did this when I was 8. They grew their chrysalis, then hatched. I touched each butterfly as they left the nest. Fast forward 39 years…..today every time a monarch butterfly passes near I wonder if they sense who I am and know I helped their ancestors migrate to create life anew again and again.

  2. We’ve entered the world of monarch ‘raising’ this summer too. Our first significant caterpillar disappeared (and no chrysalis to be found), but we have another one munching his way through my milkweed plants… I’m more aware than ever of the need to protect these beautiful creations!