Quick makes

It sure is nice to be able to finish a project beginning to end in an hour and a half. I had already cut out the fabric for these Sunny Days shorts (free pattern by Oliver + S), so my #saturdaynightcraftalong last weekend consisted of sewing them up. This is the size 8 (yikes, when did that happen?!) with 1.5 inches added to the leg length and a slightly longer back rise. My daughter is 48 inches tall and 55 pounds (yes, I’m in Canada and I should use metric but imperial seems more natural).

Backing up, I had suggested to my daughter that I would like to make her another pair of shorts, and she asked for the Slow and Steady fabric. Unfortunately I didn’t have enough of the blue left after making her purse, but when I was at Quilt Canada I picked up a one yard cut of the pink. Then last week I suddenly realized that the summer is half over, and with my daughter off to Grandma’s house for two weeks, it was now or never to get them made. Of course I had forgotten to buy thread, but fortunately I had a pink that was close enough (I like polyester thread for garments).

My daughter in her new pink Tula Pink shorts.

This was a goal for my Q3 Finish a Long list. Linking up to Main Crush Monday with Cooking up Quilts.

Leave a Reply

