Summer Sampler (Almost) Caught Up

Hidey-ho, just popping in to share my accomplishments with the summer sampler blocks (#summersampler2017 at Freshly Pieced). The 6″ paper pieced blocks are little stinkers (paraphrasing Lee) but they are super cute. I’m going to try to make the rest of the 6″ blocks from standard patchwork, because it will involve less swearing. Sometimes the joins are good enough. (My rule of thumb is about 1.5 mm–if it’s at least that close, I’m not changing it).

Anywho, here’s a couple in analogous colour schemes. I used solids for the Princess Cut block, since the pieces are so small sometimes the prints look a bit odd (I kept trying to pick off the white thread, which is actually part of the print on the Sunprints).

And Turning Star in 12″, using complementary colour scheme on the blue/purple side against the citron (which is my second favourite of the bundle after the teal). I’ve been fairly thrifty with the fabrics, and am looking forward to the flying geese and sawtooth stars once the setting is released. At that time, I’ll add in other stash fabrics (particularly solids I think) as required.

It looks like we’re going camping this weekend, so I won’t get this week’s star finished, but I’m pretty chuffed about (almost) keeping up! Have a great weekend!  Linking to My Quilt Infatuation for Needle and Thread Thursday.

One comment

  1. Such striking colors! Gorgeous.

