Ready for Christmas (A finish)

Odd as it seems to be making Christmas themed objects in the summer, these 4 placemats were one of the goals for Q2 in the Finish a Long.  I used some if the walking foot techniques I learned in my class at Quilt Canada, including fancy stitches from my Pfaff  (which has a 9 mm stitch width)., finished with free motion quilting.

To be absolutely honest with this goal  I made sure to bury all the thread ends.  The binding is Lottie Dot in grey and pink, selected to coordinate with the backside, which i will use the rest of the year.


I didn’t love the green one before I quilted it but now I do.  Yay me!  Thanks to the Finish a Long team for this motivation!

7 comments

  1. Betsy · · Reply

    I love these especially the shape

    1. I have a round table, so the rounded corners are a practical touch to ensure the placemats stay on the table. On my other set I rounded the whole bottom edge to match the curve of the table but I think that isn’t really necessary.

  2. So often quilting makes a dramatic difference! Glad you love it now.

  3. I’m very impressed that you finished this goal. Yay you.

    1. Thank you! I see you’ve got quite a list for Q3, you can do it!

      On Mon, Jul 3, 2017 at 7:29 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

