Summer sampler – Week two

I jumped into this quilt because I love sew-alongs!  I am using each block in this quilt as practice in colour theory. A quick search found a colour wheel to print off–which just happens to be in grey and white, since my printer doesn’t do colour, but it’s really just to help me lay out fabric choices.

The first block was easy, using a split complementary colour scheme with the yellow-green one one side, pink and orange slotted into place on the other side of the wheel.

completed Millcreek Star

The second block took me a lot longer to lay out. I wanted to try a rectangular layout with the four colours, but I also wanted to keep the values fairly even. I didn’t like the first layout, so I kept trying different arrangements (I really wanted to use the teal, you can see).

block 2 rectangular colour

Rectangular arrangement


block 2 triangular

This one is closer to triangular.  That “waves” sunprint in eggplant is really difficult to use.


block 2 using purple

This purple was too dark compared to the others so I went to the other side of the analogous group with the green.

So after a lot of options, I settled on the analogous complementary, using red on one side of the wheel, and blue, teal, and green on the other.

IMG_20170606_160824

I decided to make the 6″ blocks for these first two weeks because they are relatively easy to piece. Future blocks with complicated piecing will be the 12″ size so they’re not as fiddly. I’m especially looking forward to making some of the filler blocks and flying geese as well.

Are you making these blocks? Let me know if you are so I can come visit! Linking up to Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts for Let’s Bee Social.

5 comments

  1. Your blocks are really pretty, so you’re surely doing something right! 🙂

  2. Hi Lisa, What sewalong is this? I don’t have time to join in right now but I’d love to see what everybody is doing! Love your block!

    1. It’s the Summer Sampler 2017 hosted by Lee at Freshly Pieced. It is a paid subscription, one block per week plus setting instructions. If you are on Instagram, check out #summersampler2017 or Lee does show the blocks on her blog posts. About half are paper pieced, and even the traditional ones have a lot of scope for variation through colour placement, so I’m looking forward to it!

      Lisa

  3. Great colors! I love that bottom pinwheel block, Lisa : )

    1. Thank you! I am looking forward to each block…I kinda wish they came out on Sunday night ;).

