A Shiny Lunchbag

I have wanted to make my own lunchbag for a while, and I finally purchased some Insulbrite, so when I supposed to be doing something else (hey look, something shiny!) I printed out the pattern by my friend Sherri (3 years since this was published, really?!) and got to work. I used sew-in interfacing to stiffen it, added a side pocket for change and a coffee loyalty card, and picked out a colourful Anna Maria Horner fabrics for the outside of the bag. For the inside, I used laminated cotton–it was not too difficult to sew with and I’m really pleased with how it has held up, after now a month of use.

vinyl inside

Instead of following the directions exactly (because I like to make things difficult for myself), I added a zipper carrier, which also meant I didn’t have to try to topstitch the laminated cotton. However I did have to finagle the ends of the zipper and cheat a bit when I put the whole bag together. I also didn’t zigzag the handle opening as recommended, and now I know why the zigzag is recommended, to disguise the unevenness of the facing.

zipper carrier
showing outside pocket

It works perfectly well, which is what is most important.

Linking up to DREaM with Sandra at MMMQuilts.

3 comments

  1. Beth T. · · Reply

    Wow–that is so darned cute! good for you, chasing that squirrel. 😉

    1. Thanks, and now my daughter wants one like it!

      :

      >

  2. Yay! 3 years really? Crazy! And you figured out my zigzag cheat, lol. Works well to hide my facing lines, I’m not good at them 🙂 Glad it’s working for you! Love the AMH as usual. The ones I made my kids are still going and keeping everything cold, good review for the insulbrite!

Leave a Reply

