Play time

Because my income taxes are done for 2016, and I’m going to get a refund! (wait, that’s my money anyway) I maxed out my RRSP contributions this year, which I really should make more of an effort to do, for that day soon in 10 or 12 years when I can stay home and sew all day. Hey, and did you see that Pink Castle Fabrics has a sale this weekend? Or how about Mad About Patchwork, they have a sale too! Look, so does Craftsy!

Aren’t you glad I pointed that out?

Last night I did get a little sewing done, finishing the quilting on my Allietare top for a floor pillow. I broke the thread a few times, realizing only at the end that I had forgotten to drop the feed-dogs. Oops. I used a swirly-flowery type free motion quilt in white thread, and finished by edge stitching all around the top. I’m planning to make a 4″ wide side edge and use binding to join the top and side, so I wanted to stabilize the layers.

Allietare quilting

3 comments

  1. Congrats on the refund! Glad you had fun playing too – looking forward to seeing the finished pillow!

  2. I couldn’t resist Pink Castle either. Their spring cleaning is my spring hoarding.

    1. LOL I haven’t checked out yet…so hard to resist though!

