A Pink Partridge

I have tried to keep up with cutting out the Jolly Little Christmas blocks (free sew along from Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts), so that whenever I have a free moment I can sew a few seams.  The Partridge in a Pear Tree was fiddly to start, but came together nicely as long as you don’t look too closely at some of the joins. The Cotton & Steel (Fox Shrine in Gold-Red) behind is my proposed sashing fabric.

IMG_20170410_195918

Putting it all together.

Nice. I think this colour scheme is working well. Only one of the stockings, and the starry backgrounds, are Christmas fabrics. As do many of you, I find piecing very relaxing (which may be why I have so many half-made quilts, but enough of that for now). I searched images of partridges, because I didn’t really want to use brown, and then decided to go completely un-natural with the pinks. These blocks have a lot of very small pieces, so small scale prints or solids work best (although isn’t the cheater pink-gold-aqua print on the stocking awesome! no, I didn’t piece that!).

I hope you’re all having a fabulous week! Linking up to Main Crush Monday-on-a-Tuesday at Cooking up Quilts

8 comments

  1. That is shaping up to be a marvelous quilt! Each block is so unique!

    1. Thank you! I am planning to use a layout with a lot of negative space and make a queen size quilt for the spare room.

  2. The green and pink is amazing! Love them together. And the colour scheme you are using for them all looks so fun. Love it!

    1. Thanks Sherri! I hope to get the cardinal block made this weekend which will add another bit of red. You may notice I didn’t make the eye in the Partridge, I will add embroidery or a button down the road 😉.

  3. The cheater fabric IS amazing and I adore your pink partridge!! The fabric for your mittens is terrific too.

    1. The mittens are pieced — the red print with the red solid for a classic fair isle pair of Canadian mittens!

  4. Your blocks look great. I’m a few blocks behind, but hoping to get caught up this weekend.

    1. Awesome! Wishing a lovely weekend!

