Starlight,  Stardark quilt TGIFF

This quilt is notable for a couple of reasons   First, it’s the first time I did such a variety of quilting on a full size quilt.  Second, it’s the first quilt finish where I don’t have a recipient in mind.  That’s right,  I am now an official quilt stasher.

On the marker

These pictures were taken at Chopin Park in Oshawa, I asked the teenagers playing there if they would hold up the quilt and they were happy to help.  Don’t let your face show, yelled one friend. Good, I’m glad they are savvy to social media safety.

The stats:

Pattern from Quilty Habit (Jessica) with added 8″ border (Waterfront Park by Violet Craft, in case you’re wondering)

Finished size 66″ x 84″

warm and natural batting

Started August 2016, Finished February 2017.

This is my favourite section, practicing layered quilting (from the Craftsy class by Christina Cameli).

purple wild quilting

My second favourite part is the scrappy rainbow binding (helped by my short person photo-bomber). Because I pieced the quilt title and year into the front, my label on the back is only my name and town.

binding rolled
labels

I must say, it feels really satisfying to have this quilt finished.   What should I work on next?   Linking up to TGIFF, and the global hosts for the finish a long (goals here).

6 comments

  1. That quilt turned out great! And the bit of quilting you showed is well done. I do like all that variation. Not sure if I’ll ever do it. And Waterfront Park is one of my all time fabrics. I’m partial to the Portland Bridges in it, but I like it for itself as well.

    1. Thank you! My flickr album with more pictures is here.

      light purple star fabrics
  2. Beautiful quilt- I love the colors and your quilting is fabulous! Thanks for linking up to TGIFF this week!

    1. Thanks, it was a really fun quilt to make and challenged my ability to pick colours and fabrics!

  3. I’m glad you finished. The quilting is great. I’m glad the teenagers played along and held your quilt.

    1. Thank you so much! Now all it needs is a forever home.

      :

      >

Leave a Reply

