Incoming (Sunday Stash)

Another stash addition to report this week. #sorrynotsorry I popped into the Fabricland in Ajax only to discover that they are closing and had started their clearance sales. On the $5/metre table, I scooped up these two quilting cottons. I’m always looking for good modern red prints, and the Ardently Austin by Riley Blake was perfect. And the 12 Days of Christmas print (Clothworks Textles) had perfect colours for the quilt I am making from the Have a Jolly Little Christmas sew-along with Sew Fresh Quilts (oh yes, I haven’t actually shown you those blocks yet, come back Wednesday for an update!).

sunday stash feb 26

Then a few weeks previous, I had popped into Beyond the Blue Box in Cobourg and snagged this flannel, 2 metres, from the pile of donated sheets and tablecloths. I figured the fishing rods would be perfect for a quilt backing, and I have a pillow in progress which will use some of it for backing, so this is a valuable in-and-out for my stash.

flannel fishing rods

Lastly, despite needing to take these pictures inside due to rain (hello, where’s the snow?) I want to share this great shot I took on January 29 of the robin on our back fence. With the warm temperatures and lack of snow, the robins returned about 4 or 5 weeks earlier than normal, and were eating the berries off the Virginia creeper and looking for insects under the dead leaves.

Robin and Virginia creeper ivy

Linking up to Sunday Stash with Molli Sparkles.Edited, no Sunday Stash this week, maybe I’ll just go solo!

2 comments

  1. Why does my local Fabricland never seem to have great (inexpensive) prints like these? Rhetorical question…
    LOVE the fishing rod fabric!! and the robin!

    1. Luck, an eye for the good stuff, and the patience to sift through the fabricland-branded. One secret is that a lot of time these are older bolts that Fabricland has gotten recently, and they often are labelled “craft cottons” or “VIP cottons”. I’m the one over there unwrapping all the bolts so I can check the selvedges…

Leave a Reply

