Working Backwards

While I had the tutorial open for a zippered pillow back (covered zip tutorial from Adrienne at On The Windy Side), i thought I would make the back for my leftovers Christmas cushion (on my Finish a long list for this quarter).  I didn’t have enough of one Christmas fabric so I used the two largest pieces I had.

Next i went back to what I had of pieces left over.  Hmm, definitely more than enough.  Oh that’s right,  I said I would get bonus points for making a placemat or two.

First up, the pillow, to make a nice big 26″ square floor pillow.

supposed to be border pieces

supposed to be border pieces


Next, 2 placemats. There is one more in progress but the picture was out of focus, and I’d like to make a fourth. That red and white dot makes my eyes cross, but I don’t hate it enough to rip it out.
leftovers placemat

leftovers placemat


Leftovers placemat 2

Leftovers placemat 2

Ta da!  Next step is the quilting. And to add to the scrappiness, I spent tonight piecing batting. Well, it’s free then! I like to ensure my overage is about 3″ on a full size quilt–those 3″ strips get sewn together into sections big enough for placemats or pillows.

Linking up (just in time) to Leanne at She Can Quilt for Scraptastic Tuesday.

2 comments

  1. Might as well be scrappy inside and out ! Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

  2. […] -Quilt Christmas leftovers pillow […]

Leave a Reply

