I sew a Rainbow

I’ve been really enjoying the quilting on this Starlight, Stardark quilt top. I treated it like a sampler quilt, quilting each block individually and with different motifs. I tried some new free motion quilting techniques, and practiced some feathers. I used a pattern to make this butterfly. I even did some straightline quilting–which I use my free motion foot for, because on a quilt this size, turning the quilt back and forth is a pain in the .. wrists.

green butterfly

large purple star

I took several pictures Sunday out in the backyard, the fresh snow creating enough reflection that despite the late afternoon and cloud cover,  photos taken at 5 pm were not too bad for light.  Do you realize that we are more than halfway between the winter solstice and spring equinox? For more pictures, go to my Flickr album here to see all the shots from this quilt.

full quilt feb 5

I would like to get it done in time for TGIFF on February 10, which I will be hosting.  I decided to use hand binding, so not likely.  With my carpal tunnel syndrome,  I can only do 15 minutes at a time, so I imagine it will take me 6-8 days just to finish the binding.  So anyway, please come back on Friday to visit and see all the finishes for TGIFF.    (If you go peek at my instagram, I think you’ll able guess what i will be sharing).

rainbow binding

I debated between a scrappy rainbow binding or something in a gray or black and white, but I couldn’t find enough black and white in my stash to bind this twin size quilt (the problems with stashing half yards…).

Linking up to Main Crush Monday with Cooking Up Quilts. 

6 comments

  1. It’s looking wonderful and I am sure the scrappy binding will look fantastic! Love how you quilted the purple star.

    1. Thank you I think that saturated rainbow shades are my favourite colour. ā˜ŗ

  2. I love scrappy bindings and this one is gorgeous! Have fun working on the binding. šŸ™‚

    1. Scrappy binding certainly is fun!

  3. beautiful photos in the snow Lisa. It must be lovely to have “proper snow”. The only snow we had this year was wet and to be honest a great inconvenience and not even pretty! I love your quilting, it all looks really well

    1. Usually we do get several real snowfalls, but it has been unusually mild in Ontario this winter. The Sunday snow was what we call flurries, or lake effect, when the wind blowing across the Great Lakes (Ontario, or sometimes coming a long way from Lake Huron), picks up moisture and then releases it as snow when it crosses the colder land mass, so it is usually nice and fluffy. Unpredictable though. Thanks for the compliment on the quilting, it’s not perfect, but it’s pretty darn nice if I do say so myself.

