Sewing over pins

I would bet that you know already that sewing over pins can lead to broken pins. But have you ever thought about what it does to your needle?

New needle on the left, one which hit a pin on the right

New needle on the left, one which hit a pin on the right

If I am having problems with tension, the first thing I do is re-thread my bobbin and top thread. The second thing I do is replace my needle. I keep a used prescription pill container in the drawer of my sewing table, and damaged pins and old needles go in there.

Linking up to the Tutorials Archive with Late Night Quilter.

2 comments

  1. I have learned a couple of things about pins. First, don’t put them in your mouth. I hear too many horror stories of swallowing or inhaling the pin, a hard habit to break. Second, the old machines that are all metal, running over a pin is not going to compromise it’s integrity. Old machines could use the same needle for 6 months without needing a change. Bobbins were metal too. Kudos if you still run one of these gems. Fast forward to the last 20 years (or more), machines are made of plastic. Plastic gears, plastic feet, plastic foot controls. My mother just passed her Memory Craft 9000 embroidery machine to me. She spent a gob of money on it when it was brand new. One of the lessons they teach you using this machine, is do NOT run over pins. They never explained the logic. However, the logic runs in the pocketbook I suppose. Your money, your rules eh?

    1. This is all very good information, thank you for taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

