Happy blocks

I might be almost done with my aqua scraps. These blocks come together quickly, making them a perfect choice for this charity event to celebrate Canada’s 150th birthday. I have six of the aqua blocks, and one of the red. I was playing with layouts, and I think I’ll add some more colours–not a complete rainbow, but towards that by using purple, blue, and I think green.

As you can see I haven’t squared up the blocks yet–a couple of them are scant 12.5 inches so I think I’ll do it as I sew then together.   Tops and blocks are due by May 30, and i hope to make a whole quilt (24 blocks).

I will be going to Quilt Canada again this year, I just signed up for a class on the Friday (#310. Straight line Strategy, btw).  I look forward to seeing the amazing #bigquiltbee in action!  Will I see you there? 

Linking up with Let’s Bee Social st Sew Fresh Quilts.

10 comments

  1. Love to see your blocks Lisa. I’m making a bunch of them too–very fast and satisfying.

    1. Our sewing machines are humming together!

  2. A favourite colour combination ; )

    1. Me too, I love how the fabrics which have both Aqua and red tie these blocks together.

  3. Love those bright blocks! I’ve done a few already, but have plans for a few more. They’re so fun and addicting!

    1. i think ill take them to my next sew day with real-life friends, of course my Instagram friends are always with me 😉

  4. These look fantastic! That aqua just makes me smile:)

    1. me too! its been fun rediscovering my variety of aqua favrics

  5. I use aqua with a lot of colors, but your shades of red are perfect. Now I need to look at my stash again. Thanks.

  6. […] a groove with these slab blocks for the #bigquiltbee , it sure was quick!  You may remember that I started with 6 aqua blocks.   After I had the 6 red blocks done, since I have a lot of pink scraps I decided to slide […]

Leave a Reply

