Canning tomatoes

Because isn’t this what everyone does on Christmas day?   While preparing for my visitors to arrive on Boxing Day,  I was reminded of the bounty of garden tomatoes I had frozen in September.

20161225_185451

An overnight thaw of the 5 large zipper bags and simmering most of the day yielded about 9 pints of tomato sauce.  I use a food mill to remove the seeds and skins after the first hour of simmering.   Since I have this shiny new (ish) pressure canner purchased in August,  I divided the sauce and added onions, peppers, and spices to half.    Pressure canning 14 min at 10 psig, we are at about 120 metres above sea level.

tomato sauce results on Christmas Day

Check back in a few months and I’ll tell you how it tastes 😉

4 comments

  1. It is a Christmasy color. 🙂

    1. If you have the freezer space, it actually makes a lot of sense to save the cooking–having to simmer a pot of sauce most of the day–to a time when the central heating is on anyway. Because our visitors arrived boxing day, Christmas day was very low key and relaxing, this was the perfect activity.

      :

      >

  2. I froze all my tomatoes this year too, with the intention of making sauce when I’d actually welcome some warmth in my kitchen… They’re still all in the freezer! I have a wood stove constantly in use now – maybe I could simmer the sauce all day on that…

    1. Yes, exactly! Stay warm and have a great day!

      On Sun, Jan 15, 2017 at 12:02 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

