Mystery Tuesday

after clue 5

With a little extra sewing time over the holidays, I am almost caught up on the En Provence mystery quilt, with Bonnie Hunter from Quiltville’s Quips and Snips, making 1/4 of the total units for a baby-size finish.  (Of course this is not the final arrangement…or is it?)

I am still second-guessing my use of the oranges in the 4-patches, but I am waiting for Bonnie to reveal the placement of the other two colours (for me, golds and aquas), to decide whether to redo them.  It was hard for me to decide placement!  but from the other three mysteries I have finished with Bonnie (Easy Street, Grand Illusion, and Allietare) I like best the one where I deviated the most from her colours — Easy Street.

Of course some other important activities took place, making gingerbread cookies for Santa, and walking along the Ganaraska river to see some busy beavers in action, uncaring of the cold and ice.

making cookies for Santa

snack time for this beaver, Port Hope, Boxing Day 2016

(And lest you think it is all fun and games, I did get a call from work last night for some advice, which fortunately was quick to resolve).  Linking up to Bonnie Hunter’s December 26 linkup here and Main Crush Monday with Cooking up Quilts.

11 comments

  1. Argh for work calling. Seems hard to avoid! But I’m glad it was a quick fix. The mystery quilt sounds like so much fun! Love the orange in the block. But I can see how it would be nice to see the other colour placement to decide!

  2. Your colours look lovely so far. I have a friend looking for calendar fabric for the borders of a year quilt, but we haven’t found any. Is your calendar fabric something currently available? I’d love to know the maker/pattern name if you have that info, please.

    Thanks for explaining that last photo was a beaver. I never would have guessed!

    1. It’s an actual calendar panel from Meerkat Shweshwe http://shop.meerkatshweshwe.com that I won; I didn’t think I would use it past 2016 lol so I might as well cut it up. I don’t see anything similar on her site but you could contact her.

  3. It’s not always easy choosing colors…but it’s fun to play with different ones. The colors you chose look great so far! 🙂

  4. I think your colors look great. I wished I had chosen a different color for the green in Easy Street. I am ready to see a color other than purple for a while.
    Terry

  5. Yea for keeping up. Since my Easy Street still isn’t done I skipped this years …. and actually everything since Easy Street! Your blocks look good.

    1. Oh, a mountain of works-in-progress doesn’t slow me down (much) from starting new quilts. 2017 will be the year of finishes! (or so I say.)

  6. That’s great that you’re almost caught up. I haven’t been as productive this week as I had hoped, but I’m slowly making progress on stuff.

    1. We’re all here for the journey, enjoy your progress!

  7. I love your color combinations. This is my first time participating and I am wondering how it will all come together. I guess we’ll know soon enough!

  8. […] may remember my dilemma in my colour choices while making this quilt.   I really wanted a bright fall theme for this quilt,  but using […]

