Looking ahead on the solstice


Whatever traditions you celebrate this year, the age old tradition of starting a new year at the winter solstice, when the days are shortest and the night is darkest, allows us to take time to pause and reflect on accomplishments for 2016 and goals for 2017.

I just finished a leadership development retreat through my work, and one of the techniques we discussed is so simple, it was a lightbulb moment.

What in your life brings joy, satisfaction, fulfillment? Keep it.

What isn’t working, isn’t helping you meet your life/family/work commitments and goals? Stop it.

What else do you need to do? Start it.

Keep: Sewing/quilting of course, and trying new things. Should I destash any UFO’s? Hmm, no, I think I still like all of them. I am still going to the gym, but I do need to focus on getting back to 3 times, or more, per week.

Stop: Worry is a big one for me. I need to take each day at a time and not stress over decisions which I don’t need to make right now. The other thing I need to stop is making more quilt tops (at least until I catch up with my quilting lol). I also want to cut back on screen time (i.e. instagram) while my daughter is around–it’s not fair to her and it doesn’t set a good example. Lastly I am going to continue to be very selective about on-line swaps and challenges.

Start: I was fortunate enough to win the Quilter’s Planner from Stephanie at Late Night Quilter, so I’m going to have a go at organizing my quilting projects for the next few months and see if that helps me keep on track. I like all aspects of quilting, so I’m going to plan to have one quilt in the piecing stage and one being quilted, each month. Current quilt statuses:

Starlight, Stardark – quilting in progress

Summer Solstice – block piecing in progress

En Provence mystery – unit piecing in progress

Glamp Stitchalot 2016 quilt – applique round in progress

Tic Tac Toe bee quilt – blocks made, top to be designed

Starbright quilt – top finished (on hold for the hand quilting queue)

Sugar Block Club 2014 – blocks made, top designed, assembly required
Weathervane bee quilt – blocks made, top to be designed
Sunnyside triangles – blocks made

Modern Butterfly – one block left to quilt
Farmer’s wife and miscellaneous sampler blocks – well, one day I will mash these all together into a quilt

 
Linking up with Yvonne at Quilting Jet Girl for the #2017planningparty

 

7 comments

  1. It looks like you have a great head start to using the planner. I really like the Keep, Stop, and Start method you described to us and will spend some time pondering for myself. I hope you have a wonderful year ahead, and thank you for linking up!

    1. Thanks Yvonne! Best wishes for a great 2017!

  2. That’s such a great way too put it! I will start thinking about the Keep Start and Stop idea as well. Thank you!

    1. Keep, start, stop is a great tool for reflection to look back on your day or week, definitely something I will make the time for on a regular basis. Merry Christmas!

  3. I loved having a planner this past year, thanks to my sweet friend Tish. (and that’s a story in itself!). That is such wise advise and yep, so simple you think huh, why didn’t I think of or do that?! Such a good approach to a year.

    1. I am looking forward to focusing on longer term goals and the planner is going to be so fun to use. Thanks for commenting and have a Merry Christmas!

  4. Hi Lisa: Thanks for sharing the Keep Stop and Do list….it might be helpful to me although the stop part seems the hardest. I like your idea of one quilt in piecing and one in quilting, like you I make many more tops than I can quilt and I don’t really want to spend the money to send them out for quilting. How lucky that you won a quilters planner I loved mine from last year and the new one is a bit better which is a plus.

