Applique activities

As usual, I thought I would accomplish more hand stitching while I was away on my training course than I actually did.  There were evening evening group activities,  plus I spent some of ny solo time doing my Christmas shopping (point and click is the way to go).  I even hauled the hexies to Nebraska and back, but I am always afraid of losing needles on the plane, so I knit during plane rides and only sewed hexies in the evenings.

I have said before, i am enjoying the technique and doing it properly,  but I don’t see that it will ever be my favourite.   Some people make amazing designs with fussy cut hexies but I tend to buy mostly blenders.   I am really happy with this round, and am looking forward to getting the next round done.  I used a variety of greens for the leaves to add interest.   

As you can see, the vines are somewhat free form,  and i love the sentiments behind this text fabric 

Linking up to Slow Sunday Stitching with Kathy ‘ s Quilts and Scraptastic Tuesday with Leeanne at She Can Quilt.

8 comments

  1. It’s a slow process, but it’s looking great.

  2. Love the free form vine and with handstitching I think you need to relax and enjoy the slower pace though with practice it can go quite fast! Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday!

  3. Looks good. I can’t remember a trip where I did as much as I thought I would. I can remember on where I took nothing along because the last trips I’d done nothing. You guessed it. I woke up two hours before every one else with nothing to do.

  4. Lovely, Lisa! Sometimes it’s not the time we put into it, but the place it takes us to when we do.

    What a nice use of your prints in the hexies and background! I imagine this piece is one which has a very different feel up close vs. viewed at a distance. I really appreciate that in a piece, and it’s not always an easy thing to accomplish. Nice work.

  5. I think it’s fantastic Lisa!

  6. I really like your quilt, especially that hexie border. Thanks for sharing.

  7. This is a lovely round… great job!

  8. […] Glamp Stitchalot 2016 quilt – applique round in progress […]

