A cleaning up Finish

This quilt block is one of my older unfinished objects (UFO), from the Simply Solids quilt bee in 2013. Unfortunately the tension was off, so it needed to be heavily quilted. I decided to make a pillow for my daughter to sit on, which is why it isn’t as full and poofy as I would usually make. She is part of the children’s chorus for the upcoming local production of Joseph and the Technicolor Dreamcoat (Northumberland Players, Feb-March 2017), and spends a lot of time at rehearsals sitting cross-legged waiting for her turn.

butterfly pillow front
butterfly pillow zipper detail

I am really happy with the stitch length in the free motion swirls, and I was practicing my feathers for the antennae. The back is canvas (Line Leaf from Bark and Branch by Eloise Renouf), to make it a little sturdier, and finished at 14.5 inches square. I didn’t have a big enough piece of canvas to do a lapped zipper, hence the exposed zipper in the side seam. And of course three cheers for cleaning up another project and getting it Done. The free pattern is linked in this earlier post.

Linking up to TGIFF and Finish it Up Friday with Crazy Mom Quilts.

15 comments

  1. What a beautiful pillow! I am working on matching pillow for my daughter’s quilt. I never thought of a zipper, brilliant idea, i will have to do that! I hope your daughter’s play goes very well!

    1. Thanks, I think it turned out pretty well too!

      On Thu, Dec 15, 2016 at 11:42 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. That is one adorable butterfly pattern! Love the antennae!!!

    1. Thanks, I saw an amazing Luna moth last year and so I knew that feathers would be perfect for this one.

  3. That’s the perfect pillow for a budding actress in Joseph and the Technicolor Dream Coat.

    1. Thank you! I was disappointed it wouldn’t be suitable for my quilt but I’m happy in the end with how it turned out!

  4. That is a really cute pillow!! And your quilting of the feathers is beautiful. I love this finish!

    1. lol, I didn’t show you a closeup for a reason, but I’m loving using the contrasting threads as I get better at free motion quilting

      On Sat, Dec 17, 2016 at 1:16 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  5. Beautiful! And you did a perfect job sewing the zipper in too!

  6. What a beautiful Butterfly…love the colors.

    1. Thank you Heide!

      On Sun, Dec 18, 2016 at 8:39 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  7. Your quilting is great. I like the zipper at the top.

    1. Yep, washable is important. I had to make the pillow form too, since I didn’t have one exactly the right size.

      On Sun, Dec 18, 2016 at 8:38 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  8. Love it! The quilting is so fun, I love seeing what you do with it. Never would have thought of this. I must start paying attention to other people’s quilting more I think!

    1. Feel free to be inspired!

      On Tue, Dec 20, 2016 at 9:11 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

