Away stitching

Well, here I am friends,  stitching in my away location of the training course I told you about.  In the end, I decided to bring all hand projects,  a little hand quilting and my hexies and applique for my Glamp Stitchalot quilt project.   The second week of the training requires a flight,  so i plan to get the applique part ready for travelling.

20161123_193226

The training is pretty intense,  but in return the food at the conference centre (The Briars) is amazing.  Tonight I had roast beef, with Yorkshire pudding, and mango ice sherbet for dessert.

IMG_20161123_193510

I have a little test for you and in return a giveaway.  We are doing brain teasers each day, and for this physical trick one only me and one other person were able to succeed.  What you do, is using your dominant hand, draw the number 6 in the air (starting at the top).  Now move your same side foot in a clockwise circle, and without stopping your foot,  draw the 6 again.

Could you do it,  or did your foot change directions?  I found it easy, and i wonder if it has to do with learning how to free motion quilt on a domestic machine,  which similarly requires you to move in a counterintuitive direction.  

Anyway, give it a try, and leave me a comment stating whether your foot changed direction or not, and what type of machine quilting you do.   I will draw a name on Wednesday November 30 for 4 low volume fat quarters from my stash. Happy Thanksgiving to my friends in the US!

14 comments

  1. Immediately my foot changed direction, to follow my hand in making a “6” shape”, which surprised me, since I’m usually an ace at the “pat your head, rub your tummy” thing. But this is clearly different, since it’s two dominant appendages doing the same motion in different directions. Interesting!

    1. Yes, the theory has to do with your brain being unable to have two opposing motions at the same time on the same side.

      On Wed, Nov 23, 2016 at 9:45 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. Oh man! My foot changed directions! Darn! In my head I thought I could do it! Fun test!! I have machine quilting as #1 on my ‘to do’ list to conquer for 2017! I rarely do it since I am. Ot good but of course, to get good, you have to do it!!! Enjoy your training and hand stitching! Love the yellows!!

    1. Machine quilting takes practice, good luck with that goal!

      On Wed, Nov 23, 2016 at 11:38 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. Yup, mine, too! And moreover, I couldn’t keep them going in opposite directions even thinking about it. Wonder what that says about my longarming, Lisa?

    1. I think that longarming is more logical than using a domestic, because on a longarm you move the needle above the fabric, the same way that we draw or paint. On a domestic machine, you need to move the fabric under the needle, essentially the reverse of what the final outcome is.

      :

      >

  4. My foot immediately changed directions. Maybe this doesn’t bode well for free motion quilting. Good thing most of my quilting is done with my walking foot!

    1. I love straight line quilting for certain designs, but definitely free motion quilting is a fun journey, and I encourage you to try it. :

      >

  5. That food does sound delicious. Most of the time my foot kept moving clockwise and I’m claiming distraction on that last time. I do my machine quilting on a long arm though so I’m okay as long as I don’t fall over. πŸ˜‰

    1. As long as the red wine doesn’t make you fall over? lol. Thanks for giving it a try and congrats!

  6. piecefulwendy · ·

    Oh my — my foot goes counterclockwise, the same direction as my hand. Funny. I am learning free motion on my domestic, not very successfully in my opinion. I am learning to let go of perfection and enjoy the process!

    1. Free motion quilting definitely takes lots of practice, I’m glad you’re enjoying it and kudos for keeping on!

    2. piecefulwendy · ·

      Thank you, Lisa!

  7. I hope your prep is going well. Assuming you are on to the next week of training now! That’s a crazy trick. I did ok, but better after a few tries!

    Love all your handmade geAR!

