Tumbler Quilting Excitement

Exciting enough that once I added watching “The Crown” to chatting with others via #saturdaynightcraftalong on instagram, it was practically done. I mentioned previously that I used fleece to back it with. Well, I learned some very important things.
1. Although the thrifted fleece throw with the hockey sticks (how Canadian!) was cheap ($2.00), it was also thinner than the fleece I found in my stash to piece it to the right size. And it wasn’t exactly square. So I’m not entirely happy with it. Next time I think I’ll go ahead and buy fleece. The Fabricland in Oshawa regularly has a 50% off sale for members ($20/year for membership) so I tend to go and stock up on various substrates.
2. Fleece is too bulky to join with a 1/2″ seam allowance. The sections I overlocked together sat much flatter and were a million times easier to quilt.

3. Fleece is really stretchy. I basted this fairly lightly, and while flattening it out to quilt, I also stretched some sections which resulted in one area that was seriously bunched up on the front, requiring some heavy swirls and loops to get it to lie somewhat flat. But really, it’s a picnic quilt, it’s going to get thrown in the car and dragged to the beach, and it’s made of recycled shirts to begin with, I am totally okay with this.

The inspiration for this quilt was the 2015 leader and ender challenge with Bonnie Hunter. The tumblers are cut from 5″ strips and while I was at it, I cut lots of 2-1/4″ strips for a scrappy binding. I am happy it’s done and happy with the finish, which is one of my Q4 Finish-a-Long goals. (And let me just poke a little fun at the quilt police here–technically this is not a quilt,  since it only has two layers,  not three.  )

Linking up with Oh Scrap at Quilting is more Fun than Housework and the global hosts for the finish a long.

6 comments

  1. A totally fun project and finish!

    1. Thank you, I’m looking forward to using it next summer!

      On Tue, Nov 8, 2016 at 11:45 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. I have just recently started making tumbler quilts. I love the shape! Thanks for sharing your quilt with Oh Scrap!

    1. One patch quilts are so much fun!

      On Tue, Nov 8, 2016 at 6:32 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. your tumblers are great – I made mine 2 1/2 inch.

    1. If I had made mine that small it would have still been a ufo. Way to go for you though!

      Thanks for taking the time to visit and leave a comment.

      On Thursday, November 10, 2016, Lisa in Port Hope wrote: >

