Quilty Work in Progress

It seemed to take forever to make the backing, I am trying to consciously use up older large cuts of fabric (so I can justify buying new fabric.  With the saturated colours i used in the front of my Star Light, Star Dark quilt,  I like to use strong colours on the back too.

slsd quilt back 1

It felt extravagant at the time to buy 2 yards of the morning glory print, the navy stars is a find off the discount table at Fabricland in Oshawa, the blue is from Connecting Threads, and the gray print from Cameo by Amy Butler was a potential dress for my daughter that never got made. I also found a nice big piece of Warm and Natural batting.

slsd quilt back 2

Only three weeks until my training program, I still don’t know what projects  I should take, or if I should smuggle a machine into my room or not lol.  If i get this quilted I may just take it as a binding project–golly, what am I going to use for binding?

And like usual, other projects sneak in.  This bee block had tension issues,  so i decided to make a pillow with lots of machine quilting instead of hand quilting it.

butterfly block for a pillow

What’s on your sewing table this week?  Linking up to Let’s Bee Social with Lorna and a brand new linky, Let’s S.E.W. with Sandy of Upstairshobbyroom.
let's sew

9 comments

  1. Thanks for linking up Lisa!! Love your block! Maybe an English paper piecing project would be something to think about for your trip!

  2. The butterfly is very pretty Lisa. It will make a great pillow.

    1. I decided to back it with canvas, stay tuned for a finish…sometime…hopefully soon

      On Wed, Nov 2, 2016 at 8:28 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. I too have compensated for loose piecing with dense quilting. Works fine. Nice butterfly.

    1. I designed this block myself, but I learned a lot about asking bee-mates to make paper pieced blocks … I had taught myself to paper piece, so I thought it was a really achievable skill.

      :

      >

  4. Beautiful Block, so cheery.

    1. The colours are awesome, aren’t they?!

  5. Beautiful butterfly, so bright and colourful.

    1. This bee specified solid fabrics only, and I like bright colours, so this block was perfect!

