Fall sewing

Saturday walk

A little of this, a little of that. I’ve been enchanted by the fall colours recently, trying to incorporate the brilliant chartreuse greens and deep magenta into a palette which speaks autumn without being just brown and orange. I used the Play Crafts palette builder for this one, and just had to add my dark blue shoes as an accent colour.

Hmm, can i make a fabric pull with this?

Bonnie Hunter released the fabric requirements for her fall mystery this week, and although I know the quilt will be scrappily marvelous, i just can’t warm up to her colours, so perhaps I will use these instead. I would like to join in and make about one quarter of the units for a baby quilt, unfortunately i will be away on training at the beginning of the mystery, and most of the fun is in the sewing along. This pull is a real snapshot of my stash, with favourites from Cotton+Steel and Tula Pink in the aquas and blues, Anna Maria Horner hiding over in the oranges, more Tula and some Alison Glass in the yellows, and that marvelous science formula text print, Elementary by Moda.

Potential fabric pull for

Potential fabric pull for

So what do you think of this palette for a baby quilt?

Other than that, i did get my tumbler quilt basted during last weeks #saturdaynightcraftalong, and i managed to get the backing made for the Star Light, Star Dark quilt.

Phew.  Finally at the basting stage. @myteaandbrie #saturdaynightcraftalong I guess I'll do the other top tomorrow night

With Molli Sparkles is celebrating his 200th Sunday Stash post, I will link up this stash dive with him and with Cooking Up Quilts for Main Crush Monday.

“Sunday-Stash-with-Molli
8 comments

  1. I think the colors are great for a baby quilt; I’m all for non-traditional baby colors.

    1. Thanks for the vote of confidence! I teased one expectant recipient of a quilt that instead of giving it to the baby she could put it on the sofa; I had used bright jewel tones and a lot of solids, to give it a very contemporary feel. I feel that quilts should be useful for longer than that baby stage, so the other thing I do is tend to make them a bit bigger

  2. Lots of beautiful fabrics on your table! and your tumble quilt looks great! x Teje

    1. Thank you, I definitely have enough to keep me busy while I’m waiting for the mystery to start.

      On Sun, Oct 30, 2016 at 5:48 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. I absolutely love how you placed “paint chips” next to your fall photos! I struggle with choosing colors, but your post has inspired me. I think I’ll take a picture of something I think is pretty and then pairing it with paint chips! Then I can shop my stash or my local quilt shop for the fabric. My quilts will have a story behind them! Your tumbler quilt is so peaceful and….looks perfect for guy. I am pinning it as a possible colorway for my husband. He would love this. Thank you for such an inspiring post! I’ve decided to begin following you! Thank you for sharing!

    1. The Play Crafts palette builder I used is an awesome tool, and those are Kona colours, (and some other options are available), so you can buy a Kona colour card and take real pieces of solid fabric shopping as well! So glad you enjoyed this post and thanks for joining!

  4. […] teaching and fun in these mystery quilt alongs, I was eager to dive in. I shared my fabric pull in this earlier post. On the weekend when I was home in-between weeks 2 and 3 of my offsite course, I cut out the […]

  5. […] in the 4-patches, but I am waiting for Bonnie to reveal the placement of the other two colours (for me, golds and aquas), to decide whether to redo them.  It was hard for me to decide placement!  but from the other […]

