Progressing

Progress on both the quilting and health front to share with you. Would you ever think that quilting is an activity where physical health and strength in your feet is important? Well, with a standing setup for cutting and ironing, I have realized how hard that is on my feet. Fortunately with some dedicated effort from a chiropodist and physiotherapist, I am starting to see improvement in the plantar faciitis in my feet. It seems that after an ankle injury last summer, I got into the habit of favouring the left ankle, leading to tension and knots in adjacent muscles, which then pull against the ligaments and tendons in my feet, causing inflammation.

So of course that hasn’t stopped my sewing, fortunately I had a lot of Summer Solstice units to piece to get the other 3 blocks done, and I do pinning and preparation work sitting down instead of standing. I also move my ironing board beside the sewing machine instead of getting up and down repeatedly.

twin quilt

But my main activity has been finishing the Starlight, Stardark quilt with Northumberland star corner blocks and borders in this fantastic Bridgetown fabric. I love the monochromatic effect in the stars, completing the rainbow by making red, yellow, orange, and magenta (8″ finished size). I picked the Northumberland star because Port Hope is in Northumberland County, Ontario.

northumberland star

Once I realized that I was only 4″ short on the border fabric with 6 width of fabric (WOF) strips, instead of cutting another, I picked out some solid scraps and made a filler piece. I will likely add a label on the back with my name and town, and perhaps the recipient, once I decide who this top will go to.

pieced label in border

Next I need to see what i have for backing fabrics, make that, and baste it. I figure if i don’t stop this quilt will get done.

Thanks for stopping by! What projects are you working on?

5 comments

  1. Lisa: I had Plantar Fasciitis too and OMG it hurts so much. You know what finally cured it for me? YOGA! Turns out down dog is the best cure for it. Just FYI. I love that orange star – it’s so beautiful!

    1. Thank you! I will look into adding that to my stretching/exercise routine. Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment!

      On Fri, Oct 21, 2016 at 9:32 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. Your star quilt is looking beautiful. I hope your health continues to improve.

    1. Thank you so much Lisa. Tomorrow I need to dig through my backing pile to see what I have.

      On Fri, Oct 21, 2016 at 10:54 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. It’s looking great. Can’t wait to see it quilted. You were creative in adding the pieced section in the border.

