Goals for Q4 in the Finish-A-Long

Well, I seem to be continuing my trend of finishing one quilt per quarter. However at the rate which I start new quilts, that pace really needs to pick up.  So I’m going to join the #ridiculouslylongFALlist club with Helen (Archie the Wonder Dog) and Leeanne and Jess and everyone else!

So here goes, my goals for quarter 4! This quarter I have a training program requiring several overnight stays over two weeks — you betcha, I’m already plotting what projects I should take with me. I have heard we have evening sessions–but I’m sure I’ll still have an hour or two each night to decompress (sew).

Sugar Block Club queen size quilt. Here’s an updated picture with the current status, see this link for a shot of all the blocks. I really want to get this one done.

Sugar Block quilt progress for Q4

Tumbler block picnic quilt. I bought a fleece throw to back it with; I’m not planning on using batting, just some simple stitching to keep it together and it should be great to throw in the trunk (boot) of the car and take to the park or the beach.

DSC_2100

Joy pillow. Hey look, I got it basted! I used thread basting to allow me to hand quilt this.

Joy pillow starting quilting

And the leftover bits from my Grand Illusion quilt will make a nice pillow too. Oops, what did I do there?

Pillow from Grand Illusion leftovers and an oops!

Star Light, Star Dark quilt. I am putting small stars in each corner of a border to make this a twin size, I think it’ll be a lot more useful and practical at that size.

helped by the wind

Glamp Stitchalot (2015) quilt. Realistically, I doubt I’ll finish, but let me place hand on heart here, in front of all my on-line friends, to at least progress it this quarter. Since it is a medallion, I just need to keep going, and I’m going to make it king-size (!). Why?, because we don’t actually have a quilt for our bed. My goal this quarter is to get the top to 60″ size.  I have a lot of the units I will need partially made, plus there will be some applique to do during my training program.

DSC_2095

Hmm, what else can I find in my deep, dark bin of unfinished objects?  How about  Allietare, Bonnie Hunter’s mystery from 2015 in a more reasonable size–this will be a floor pillow, I’ve seen people use duvets to fill pillows this size and I have a queen size duvet we never use, so it will be perfect.

DSC_2096

And the tic tac toe blocks from my 2015 bee-mates, I’ve got an awesome print to make a large border and turn it into a twin size.  Heck, maybe I’ll make a king!

tic tac toe Jan 17

This panel of triangles is from instructions provided by Rachel at Stitched in Color during the Angled on-line class two years ago–I think a tote bag.

DSC_2093

And while I’m making tote bags, here is the panel, about 14″ square, which I made at the Creativ festival 3 years ago in a creative stitching class.  I don’t want to just throw it away,  but it will be fine for groceries.

Creative stitching practice piece

And let me add my current sock project,  considering it took me almost a year to get one sock done.

One sock done

Linking up to the global 2016 Finish-a-Long for Q4.

 

6 comments

  1. At least you’ve got lots of choices of things to work on? 😀 It’s good to have options. I really like those tic tac toe blocks… love those kinds of colours.

    If I made a FAL list, it would be pages long. I need to stop starting and start finishing, but haven’t had any drive to sew in ages.

    1. The colors for the Tic Tac Toe blocks were picked with the idea of making a baby boy quilt. I’m sorry to hear that your sewjo is missing; I love sharing my progress online with people so the finishalong really helps me get those lingering projects done–although I still start new projects, don’t mistake that. Just pick one or two to commit to and link up!

  2. Oh wow Lisa! I kept changing my favorite as I went through the list! So many great projects. I think I especially like the “to be” floor pillow. Love me some red and blue!

    1. Thanks Sherri! I love making such a variety of projects, of always of always making new designs and colour combinations. I definitely will be busy!

  3. […] for a scrappy binding. I am happy it’s done and happy with the finish, which is one of my Q4 Finish-a-Long goals. (And let me just poke a little fun at the quilt police here–technically this is not a quilt, […]

  4. […] Tic Tac Toe bee quilt – blocks made, top to be designed […]

