Liberty and Chambray Handmade Style Tunic Finish

It’s a perfect summer garment. I really wanted to be able to wear this at the cottage, only to find that with the change in the weather I was wearing a fleece sweater rather than a breezy tunic. The pattern is from the book Handmade Style, by Anna Graham (Noodlehead), and she had a little sew-along on her blog this summer.

I ended up sewing most of this tunic in one sitting. First however I made a full bust adjustment to the pattern, starting with the XL from my high bust measurement and adding a bust dart, then graded out to the 2XL at the hips. By using the tissue pattern against my body for placement, I also moved the drawstring lower by 2 inches in the front, which lengthened the placket (I added 2 more buttons).

buttons selection

buttons selection

The fabric I had was scant, but I managed to cut out the pieces although you may be able to see that I mixed up right and wrong side while marking so i really hope the dressmakers carbon washes out. I then cut the bias strips and placket out of the pink Liberty print. The Liberty was really nice to work with, it holds the pressing well. I did have one problem with the pattern, see the note I made:

pattern notes for tunic

At least I'm smiling here

At least I’m smiling here

Once I had the tunic mostly constructed and tried it on, I found there was plenty of room in the bust but the hips were tight, so I let out the side seams and cut the bottom hem in a curve. I sewed the bias tape as double fold to the bottom (so you can still see that lovely Liberty fabric) and restitched the side seams just to the top of the bias tape to finish it off.

I love the neckline detail

I love the neckline detail

All in all, it turned out pretty cute, but I’m not convinced it’s the best style for my body type. What do you think?

Linking up to Main Crush Monday at Cooking Up Quilts.

11 comments

  1. Cute, though I agree – possibly not the best design for your body type. Maybe omitting the draw string? It looks like there’s too much fabric on top, especially on the side/armscye. I think letting your bosom carry the dress could be a good idea.

    1. Sigh, it’s true, I used to have an hourglass shape but now it’s more like a rectangle. This tunic is still wearable, looking at the photos I think I’ll shorten the drawstring, and on my next version I like your idea of eliminating the drawstring waist. Thanks for commenting, I appreciate your feedback.

    2. Can I just say “me too!”? I know this problem far too well…

  2. Comfort first, looks second. If it is comfortable I say wear it. I think how you adapted the pattern is great. If I were to make this for myself, I would lengthen it to the knees and make the sleeves a tad longer and wear it as a very comfy nightshirt.

    1. Ooh, in flannel wouldn’t that be nice!

  3. I really like it and I think it suits you well! If you throw a well tailored black cardigan over it, it will make it wearable in colder weather and help with the silhouette (though I think it looks lovely like it is!)

    1. Thank you Vicky, I will have to try that! I may try the look with a turtleneck underneath as well.

  4. Great to be able to alter patterns! And darn those changing body shapes. Been there. 🙂 What works for me when I want a waist is to have some blousiness on top attached to a fitted waist. But usually I go for the total flare look, no belt.

    1. I have a lot of knit shirts in my wardrobe these days…

  5. It’s a great pattern, and I like your fabric choices. But now that you’ve made it, you can modify it as you see fit.

  6. I’m so impressed that you altered the pattern! I’ve never made a garment and am envious of those who do – I think you did a wonderful job. Too bad the weather turned chilly on you! Now that you’ve made it once, it should be easy to modify it like you want. Congratulations on a job well done! 🙂

