Final Tally for Q3 in the Finish-a-Long

full quilt grand illusion Christmas
Not bad, not bad at all. Two previous finishes have been linked up already, my espadrilles in fabulous echino, and the Yuma pillow, completed and gifted to my in-laws. (Q3 goal setting link here.)

I’ve been working away at the quilting of this Christmas Grand Illusion (mystery quilt pattern from 2014 by Bonnie Hunter) this week, and then all of a sudden it was done! I did orange peels in all the sashing squares, completely freehand so wobbles and all, then devised a pattern for each block to ensure all the fabrics were stitched down securely. I started with a dahlia flower in the centre, stitched in the ditch around each double diamond, then did some loops and curves in each corner, and figured out how to do all of this without stopping (per block). Finally I did an easy lazy eight pattern in the border, although I was going too fast at first and got some eye-lashing. Meh, I’m just going to leave it.

eyelashing

grand illusion back

For the binding, I had originally purchased a medium blue, but it didn’t work with the red border, so after digging through my stash I found this print with ornaments (or baubles, as my South African/English friend calls them) which pulled in all the colours from the top. I cut my binding 2-1/4″ wide, press in half, sew to the back, then topstitch on the front. I ended up with one extra binding strips, and yeah! a win on the length, having to trim only 1/4″ to make the rest of the binding strips line up perfectly.

binding win

As you can see, this is really scrappy, as Bonnie Hunter teaches, mixing Christmas and non-Christmas prints, mixing quilt shop quality with my local fabric store, Fabricland, and fabrics bought at the thrift store so who-knows-where-they-came-from. Finished size is 52″ x 66″, a perfect throw size.

quilting detail

How about you, have you started your Christmas sewing yet? It only took me 2 years to get this one done…Here are some links to my progress posts:
Near the beginning
Piles of units
Top done

Also linking to Georgia Girl Quilts for TGIFF and Crazy Mom Quilts for Finish it Up Friday.

18 comments

  1. That is one great scrappy finish!

    1. Thank you!

      On Tue, Oct 4, 2016 at 4:21 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. I love it! Makes me want to dig out my greens/reds and start sewing. Who needs to finish deadlines on time! šŸ˜‰ (Argh!) Scrappy is my favorite, so warm and cozy. Totally worth the 2 years it took to finish it!

    1. My Christmas fabric stash is still quite healthy, I may need to make another one this year! Maybe my sister needs a Christmas quilt…

      On Tue, Oct 4, 2016 at 12:39 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. Hurrah! Well done! The perfect holiday snuggle quilt.

    1. It was my first time using Hobbs batting, and it turned out a bit poofier than I expected, so I think it will be great for those holiday movie nights..

      On Tue, Oct 4, 2016 at 5:02 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  4. Oh, this is lovely! What a finish! šŸ™‚

  5. It’s a beautiful quilt!

  6. I made Grand Illusion in Bonnie’s colors, I like it in your colors. The quilting is really nice

  7. The quilting is great. Congrats on the finish.

    1. It took me a long time to plan how I was going to quilt this. I need to figure out how to make the planning time shorter so i can get more quilts finished. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Oh that is quite incredible! I love that pattern and it’s got to be on my must-make list some day!

    1. So glad you like it!

      :

      >

  9. It’s gorgeous, Lisa! I love the total scrappiness of it and your quilting looks great!

    1. Thank you, now on to the new challenges of next quarter!

  10. Love this. It’s a great example of a well-balanced scrappiness. Your quilting is fabulous too. This quilt makes me want to push everything on my to-do list off to the side and make another Christmas quilt! Thanks for linking up to TGIFF!

    1. A Christmas palette is guaranteed to work in any design, don’t you think? Now that I have this one done, I do want to make another, next time i can’t resist a quilt along perhaps…

  11. Love this! So pretty! Thank you for participating in the FAL, on behalf of the 2016 global FAL hosts

