Finished Star Light, Star Dark quilt top

Wow. Can I just say it again, wow. I love the bold bright colours of this quilt top. I can’t put myself into any one style of quilting, I think that every quilt top I have made is very different, and this one is so fun!

Helped by my favourite short person, here is the finished quilt top for the Star Light, Star Dark Quilt Along with Jessica at Quilty Habit (Thanks again for an awesome quilt design and quilt along journey, Jess!).

Mom, it’s too big (52″x70″, this is the lap size, I’m debating about adding some borders to make it a twin).

how's this shot

Mom, it’s cold out here (we are definitely into fall weather, although the sunshine was nice, it was only about 13 C in the shade).

it's cold out here

Hey, the wind is helping!

helped by the wind

Jess has challenged us to finish our quilts by October 3. If you take a look at my instagram feed, you’ll see that I’ve been quilting my Christmas Grand Illusion top this week–because until I do, my basting pins are not available for this top lol. Linking up to Main Crush Monday at Cooking up Quilts and the finished top link-up with Jess at Quilty Habit.
Quilty Habit

13 comments

  1. Oh just go out and buy more basting pins. 🙂 It is a great top!

    1. Actually, I did get the sashing done on the other quilt, so now I could take out most of the pins.

  2. Love the bright colors. Beautifully done.

  3. Try basting spray. I don’t pin anymore. It looks great — love the colours.

  4. Wow, wow, wow!! I love your finished top! I’d love to see it with borders when you add them. Can’t wait to see it quilted whenever that is. Your inclusion of the butterflies is just fabulous! Beautiful work and thank you for quilting alone with me, Lisa! 🙂

  5. You’re right. I love the colours too! It would look amazing as a twin, I think the borders would give it more structure around the edges and it would be fun to add more colour!

    1. Ooh good idea, maybe I need to finish the rainbow.!

  6. Very pretty quilt. Great idea to add borders for a twin sized quilt.

    1. I have a black and white fabric that will make a fantastic frame for these jewel tones.

  7. Wow, I really, really like this one, too! I don’t know how I missed that quilt-a-long. I’ll have to check it out in spite of being tardy.

    1. It was really fun to play with low contrast in each block, keeping in the same colour family. Even if you use a different block, I really enjoyed the way this quilt taught me to play with colour and value and saturation, I think you will too.

      On Tue, Oct 4, 2016 at 7:35 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  8. […] my main activity has been finishing the Starlight, Stardark quilt with Northumberland star corner blocks and borders in this fantastic Bridgetown fabric. I […]

  9. […] fabric (so I can justify buying new fabric.  With the saturated colours i used in the front of my Star Light, Star Dark quilt,  I like to use strong colours on the back […]

