Blogger’s Quilt Festival – Rainbow Stash Quilt

Thanks again to Amy at Amy’s Creative Side for creating this opportunity for bloggers to share and showcase the work which we do, primary alone with only a bright screen for company.

I was fortunate enough to win a prize in the spring instagram version of the BQF for my niece’s Refracted Quilt, but somehow the fall blogger version was a surprise to me.  And funnily enough, I don’t have many quilt finishes to choose from (lol).  Summer will do that to a quilter, with competition from gardening and outdoor escapades, plus the heat of the summer is not conducive to having  quilt draped over my lap in the making process.

corner quilting detail

This quilt was designed and made for the spring 2016 Modern Quilt Guild fabric challenge, using a print fabric in black and white called “Sashing Stash”.  I struggled with the rigid geometry of the print, then came up with a design of the medallion based on a dresden wheel, adding colours with fabric markers (more on my design process here).  It finishes at 28.5 inches square, so I am entering it in the Small quilt category.

#mqgfabricchallenge Rainbow Stash

My favourite part of this quilt is the rainbow HST which I made in each corner, using a variety of threads and free motion motifs.  And hey, my fingernails look half decent in this shot, considering it’s all I can do to trim them regularly.  Polish happens rarely.  These photos were taken at the share cottage property which we visit 5 times per year.  We enjoy it in all seasons, and this past May (as you can see by the bare knees) was warm–we even swam in the lake!–and pleasant.  Yes, there were blackflies and mosquitoes, but not too bad.

corner quilting detail 2

And doesn’t the back look amazing?

back of Rainbow Stash showing quilting detail

 

8 comments

  1. What a great looking quilt! I love the rainbow and especially love your quilting that mimics the HST – and that you mixed it up with the quilting!

    1. Thanks you Lesley! After the first one, I decided that doing 24 hst all the same would be b.o.r.i.n.g. So it was great to have fun with it!

      On Sun, Sep 25, 2016 at 10:26 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. This is a great quilt. I like the triangle quilted sections — very creative.

  3. Wow! It turned out amazing! I love the thread colours. And you are right about the back – looks so good!

  4. I love this quilt, especially the centre. The quilting is the perfect compliment.

    1. Thank you so much. I was really pleased on how the Dresden wheel transformed the squares into a dizzying optical illusion. This one I am definitely keeping.

  5. I love that you used so many different colors of thread in your quilting- it is perfect for this quilt!

    1. Thanks Cassandra, it is rare that I use white background fabric so I just had to add more colour!

      On Fri, Sep 30, 2016 at 4:28 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

