Bundle Buys (Sunday Stash)

So you see, every year we go to Plattsburgh NY for a weekend in September. One opportunity this gives me is to use my duty-free allowance on fabric shipped to the hotel. However this year, with the Canadian dollar around 0.75 to the US dollar, it’s really not worth it to buy fabric in the US when instead I could support a Canadian shop. But then I hopped onto the Connecting Threads website, and they had some FANTASTIC prices, plus 40% off notions, so I soon filled my shopping cart and had a shipment on its way for a nominal shipping amount and no customs fees.

Most importantly, the fabric. Cotton and Steel fat quarters for $1.25 US each? Heck, yeah!
cotton and steel september 2016

Hmm, maybe I need more solids. These have a wonderful hand. Quilter’s Candy rich solids for less than $1 US each.
quilters candy solids

Fortunately two of these fat quarters made their way into my Star Light, Star Dark quilt right away.

With your sharp eyes, I’m sure you noted the Helios in Ice (Anna Maria Horner) under these photos. Just because. Also I stocked up on a few notions. Finally a 6″x24″ ruler (I have a 3″x 18″ currently). Some pins, needles, marking pencils, and another quilting book (why, I don’t know, I never make entire quilts out of books. Blocks, though, yes.)

Notions from connecting threads

Linking up to Molli Sparkles for Sunday Stash.

6 comments

  1. Wow that C&S is a great bargain, it’s great to find fabric at good value and not have to incur whopping fees – enjoy

    1. I had to adopt these bundles to take care of them lol.

      On Sun, Sep 18, 2016 at 3:32 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. Cotton and Steel are great fabrics with good design. I really like your solids and can wait for you to share what you do with them. The colors are short of pastel but have a great warm feel to them

    1. I felt I had enough pastel solids already, so picked this bundle to round out my stash. As to a project, I need to make a few more of my “modern butterfly” blocks, someday soon!

  3. Woo hoo!!! I never thought about shipping stuff to the hotel. Hmmm……

    1. Ooh, I love being a fabric enabler 😉

      On Mon, Sep 19, 2016 at 9:31 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

