Yuma pillow finish (TGIFF)

Finally it was time to finish this pillow off (see tutorial for adjusting the pattern here).   And it was a good choice to practice free motion quilting on my new Pfaff before i finished my MQG challenge quilt.

Once it was quilted, it got set aside again waiting for a back and a pillow form (made of stashed broadcloth).  The grey and yellow print,  also used on the back of ny nephew’s pillow, matched the neutral prints that i used on the front very well.

back showing pillow form

For the quilting, i tried a type of “flow quilting”, mixing fluid free motion motifs to cover the surface, although the result is rather subtle.

yuma pillow finish

This was one of my Q3 finish-a-long goals. Linking up to TGIFF with M-R at Quilt Matters this week,  because every finish deserves a celebration.

14 comments

  1. You’ve made a beautifully restful cushion cover here. Lovely!

    1. I am still thrilled at the effect from using all neutral fabrics, it’s definitely a palette I will use again.

      On Fri, Sep 9, 2016 at 8:08 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. beautiful pillow and great quilting

    1. Thank you!

      On Fri, Sep 9, 2016 at 9:22 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  3. It turned out great! Your quilting put it over the top!!

    1. I really need to make more pillows, especially since I gifted this one to my in-laws (who have the quilt too), and enjoy them every day!

      On Fri, Sep 9, 2016 at 9:58 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  4. It’s beautiful. Your quilting is great. I’ve been wanting to try the Yuma pattern, but just not enough time.

    1. The bias edges are a bit tricky, but it actually is a really fast make. It is marvelous that so many talented people, like Ivete at Gotham Quilts, create theses free patterns for all of us to share!

      On Fri, Sep 9, 2016 at 8:39 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  5. Yay! Every finish does deserve a celebration! Beautiful job on that quilting Lisa — wow! Very cool flow quilting!

    1. Thank you M-R, I love practicing my fmq on pillows, they are small and easy to manipulate. So if practice makes perfect, I’ll keep practicing!

  6. Love the fabrics you chose! So earthy. Adding the border was a great idea so the block points don’t get lost in the curve of the pillow (I’ve had that happen before and it’s kind of disappointing).

    1. This design was an experiment with using only neutrals and I *love* how it turned out. And, let me confess, I had to add the border to make the pillow a reasonable size, and I also like that with a border I can taper the corners to prevent rabbit ears.

      On Mon, Sep 19, 2016 at 12:37 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  7. […] all. Two previous finishes have been linked up already, my espadrilles in fabulous echino, and the Yuma pillow, completed and gifted to my in-laws. (Q3 goal setting link […]

  8. This is beautiful! Thanks for participating in the 2016 FAL on behalf of the global hosts 😀

