Just in time–Summer Solstice quilt

Hello friends!  One of the things I accomplished in Sunday was to complete piecing the first block (of 4) for the Summer Solstice quilt along with Melissa of Happy Quilting.  Despite the people who encouraged me to take my featherweight to the cottage, I decided not to, so I had to get this done before I left!   I thought hard about it, and decided that I wouldn’t get any peaceful (pieceful) time away from the crowd without being rude.  

Now that I see the first block, I think I’m going to have to do something different with the block sashing, I may see if I have enough arrows in navy (Cotton +Steel) to frame each block.

Meanwhile at the cottage I finished putting the buttons on my chambray and Liberty handmade style tunic, and gotten started on the hand quilting of yet another modern butterfly block.  Visit me on Instagram for sneak peaks or come back to see updates ;).

Linking up to Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts and Melissa at Happy Quilting.

8 comments

  1. This is really great! I love how adding just a few curved pieces to the top really changes the complexity of it. Nicely done. šŸ™‚

  2. I adore this great big block! I can’t wait to see where this is going!

  3. happyquiltingmelissa · ·

    It looks so awesome!!! I just love the scrappy low volume background, so fantastic!!! Great job getting it all sewn up, it just came together so wonderfully!!! And your points look awesome, so fun!!!

  4. This is so cute! A great idea to mix curves and triangles, and I love your colors. Enjoy the cottage!

  5. I love your summer solstice colors! So bright and happy. It’s so pretty!

  6. Beautiful choice of fabrics! Just lovely.

    1. Thank you, I like where this is going too!

  7. […] of course that hasn’t stopped my sewing, fortunately I had a lot of Summer Solstice units to piece to get the other 3 blocks done, and I do pinning and preparation work sitting down […]

