A Fine Finish

Hurray for the first of my 2016 Q3 FAL (Finish-a-Long) finishes (see targets here)! And the one which has been in progress the shortest time, but it’s also the cutest.

handmade

Ta da!

I bet you all want a pair now, right? I purchased the espadrille kit at Creativ Festival in April, and the Echino linen-cotton from Fabric Spark worked out perfectly with a lovely soft Art Gallery print as the lining. The cotton yarn I had in my stash. But in case you’re interested, they are available on Amazon, and probably at the larger craft stores. I usually wear an 8-1/2, these are a size 9 sole and I just snugged up the length a bit. However let me warn you that it is physically tough to sew the soles, so I needed to take a lot of breaks because my hands got sore doing it (that is, not a two-hour craft as advertised).

espadrille echino

new espadrilles

Unfortunately, I’ve been having a lot of foot problems, which appears to be plantar fasciitis , so I’m putting off wearing these much at the moment since they have no arch support. No matter, it still counts for a finish! Linking up to the Finish-A-Long at the end of September, and today at The Quilt Journal for TGIFF.

10 comments

  1. They are cute! Not sure I am ready to tackle shoes though.

    1. Thank you! I like the fact they are completely one-of-a-kind.

  2. How cute! I hope you are able to wear and enjoy them soon!

  3. What a great finish and I love the little foxes on them! I have never heard of an espadrille kit before- what a great idea! hope you feet feel better soon so you can wear those styling shoes!

  4. That’s an amazing thing to make – a pair of shoes! They look pretty good too, I’m very impressed!

  5. I didn’t know there were kits for shoes available. I’ll have to search them out. Yours look fabulous — slightly wide toes, a little rounded: just my style. I need arches, too. I wonder if there are inserts that could be added…. Hmmm. Thanks so much for sharing these.

  6. They look great! My first thought was “I’d never be able to wear them because of plantar flacitis”. Lol. I hope your feet feel better soon (I understand the pain, I really do😣!) and you get to wear your new shoes!

    1. I had been dealing with one foot for a while, but two feet is really too much! Hope that the therapy helps and I can wear these, even just around the backyard.

  7. […] bad, not bad at all. Two previous finishes have been linked up already, my espadrilles in fabulous echino, and the Yuma pillow, completed and gifted to my in-laws. (Q3 goal setting link […]

  8. I love the fabric you chose! Hope your feet are better soon. Congratulations on your finish, and thank you, on behalf of the 2016 global FAL hosts, for taking part!

