Five pins

I have made drunkards path block units before, using the no-pin method, and then trimming. However I found trying that with these pieces led to wonky, too-small units. So pins it was. Initially three pins per unit, it was still a struggle to get the pieces feeding smoothly under the foot, so eventually I started using five pins.

five pins per unit worked perfectly

five pins per unit worked perfectly

Over the last few days, some sessions of pinning, followed by sessions of chain piecing, have led to these wonderfully scrappy piles of drunkards path units! Next up will be block assembly, we have some vacation coming up so I may fall behind, … hmm, I wonder if I should take my featherweight to the cottage?

summer solstice drunkards path units

summer solstice drunkards path units

Adelaide my featherweight 221

Adelaide my featherweight Singer 221

Ta ta for now, I have to go sew that last unit so I’m legit for the linkup with Melissa at Happy Quilting for the Summer Solstice Quilt-along.

8 comments

  1. I heard your Featherweight whisper that it wants to go along.

    1. It’s getting a bit louder than that…:)

      On Thu, Aug 18, 2016 at 12:00 AM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

  2. happyquiltingmelissa · ·

    Sometimes those smaller ones need an extra pin or 2 as they are just to hard to finagle with your fingers. Glad it adjusted well for you πŸ˜‰ And way to get all of those pieced up!!! I know that was a whole lot of curves πŸ˜‰ They look so fantastic!!! And my MIL travels quite a bit and her featherweight goes everywhere with her, tee hee hee πŸ˜‰

    1. Once I had a batch pinned the sewing was pretty quick. Now just to start assembly!

      :

      >

  3. Definitely take the featherweight! It wouldn’t be much of a vacation without the joy of working on that beautiful drunkards path!

    1. I am very tempted, I usually take hand work to the cottage but I’m not sure what I have on the go right now, other than socks. I always have socks on the go.

      :

      >

    2. Lucky! Next on my list of techniques to learn:)

    3. Remember, it’s only fabric! Give it a try and have fun!

      On Fri, Aug 19, 2016 at 10:14 PM, Lisa in Port Hope wrote:

      >

